SHE DIES TOMORROW review (4/10)…an intriguing idea gone so very, very, horribly wrong

Reuben Murray
3 min readJun 20, 2024

SHE DIES TOMORROW is a deeply disappointing film. Although it clocks in at only 86 minutes, it was the longest 86 minutes I’ve experienced in quite some time.

The movie has a fascinating premise, and there were moments that were very interesting. But as a whole, it didn’t work for me.

In a nutshell, Amy wakes up one morning, absolutely convinced that she will “die tomorrow.” And when she shares this certainly with her older friend Jane, unfortunately Jane “catches” the same conviction about herself. Turns out, this certainty of immediately impending death is a communicable disease or thought. That was a very cool idea and is the premise on which I decided to watch the film. Ugh.

The first 20 minutes or so of the film show us very little other than how Amy responds the awareness that she has one day left. She putters aimlessly around the house, listens to the same piece of music over and over, and generally acts depressed and delusional. There are all sorts of low-budget effects (mostly lights that change colors constantly) and loud noises and distorted close-ups to show us, apparently, the mental state of Amy. I was mostly annoyed by it all, and then really, really bored. Amy, as played by Kate Lyn Sheil, is one of these characters who hardly moves…

--

--

Reuben Murray

I love movies and like to write about my thoughts on them (a sort of intellectual exercise). I hope that you'll appreciate some of my opinions as well.