There’s no such thing as bugs

Reuven Karasik
2 min readNov 1, 2015

Only human stupidity and sleepless developers.

A couple of weeks ago I had a conversation with a client. The website I built for him had a PHP script that sends emails to his email address whenever a user submits the contact form, and he called me and said he’s not receiving the emails.

When I heard it, unfortunately, my first reaction was, “Really? That’s weird. Let me check what’s wrong with the code”. I assumed that if he’s not receiving the emails, the problem is probably with the server or the code.

So I went to check what’s wrong. I did the QA by myself and tested again and again the little bit of code, suspected the hosting company, almost reconfigured the SMTP server, and still the client didn’t receive any of my emails.

And then, after a few hours of researching, the client sent me a text message — “It‘s all inside the spam folder. What should I do?”.

Wait. You didn’t check the spam folder???

And then it hit me. There’s no such thing as bugs. Only human mistakes, people who don’t know how to use computers, programmers with bad social skills and sleepless developers.

--

--