My First Trading Bot: part 2

FreeReveller
3 min readMar 9, 2018

--

So, wow, I am resurfacing after a good swim in Tradingview, AutoView, VPS servers (optional) and some Pine Script. The good news is, I managed to create a 24/7 trading bot for myself, fully under my control. Hooray!

I’ll keep it short, as I have limited time, but I learned this all because other people share their knowledge, so I feel inspired to do the same.

Again, I’m good with computers, but no programmer (besides HTML/CSS, but that is not programming, it’s logical thinking). I do this as experiment to reduce the time I spend on managing my crypto portfolio.

Here it comes… I arranged;

  1. A TradingView membership for the scripts and alerts. You can use scripts other people built, create your own, or just set a simple “buy at MA50 crossing” alert. Check Tradingview for their alert tutorials and you will make it all work. Start with a trial to kick it off, and after that you’ll see the Pro+ account gives you 30 alerts, which should be way enough after the first month.
  2. An AutoView subscription for my preferred exchanges in order to translate the Tradingview alert into an order via the exchange API. It is a workaround, but one that works. The thing is, tradingview can’t do any trading, so AutoView is a Chrome extension that ‘listens’ to the Tradingview alert popups. You write a special message in the alert that tells AutoView how much to buy or sell on which account. They have the proper manuals and Discord channel to get you running. After installing, you can set $5 subscriptions per exchange in the settings of the extension.
  3. A computer that runs 24/7. AutoView runs on your computer, not in the cloud, so you need to make sure it runs all the time somewhere. You might have a spare computer to make that work. As digital nomad, I travel too much for that, so I opted for a VPS Windows Server at a cheap, big internet services provider to make it managable for me.
  4. A nice script in Tradingview. Here is the little bugger, coz you need to find out yourself how you want to trigger the alerts. Luckily, you can start simple and learn along the way. Just check the alerts tutorials on Tradingview for starters.

At this point I’m checking several scripts and use the backtesting system in Tradingview to figure out the best settings for each coin I want to auto trade. You can choose a script in the library and make it trigger buy and sell orders.

I’ll be honest about it, this all take time to get acquainted with. Setting it up, understanding the systems involved, spending money in a few subscriptions (I call that investing). We are talking about a system that moves your money around in the form of crypto tokens. I suggest you set it up, take your time for each part of the system and use the available communities (Discord, Slack) to find answers and ask questions. Then, when doing your analysis, you can start setting simple alerts so you don’t have to sit behind your computer precisely when that buy or sell needs to take place. For example, you want to take a position in a coin when it hits the MA200 on the hour chart. Now it just happens when it happens while you are at your other job ;)

After that, you can dive in the world of Pinescript, and use or create more interesting automated trading systems. I found my first inspiration with the Turtle system. It was Daniel Jeffries who introduced me to it.

If you like solving puzzles, you might as well make money with it… I like this puzzle a lot and have a lot of fun in the process of learning and setting it up. I believe that persistence is key here, as I am sure this will pay off in the future. Just like learning a new job, it needs some time, learning, trial and error and little celebrations when you moved one step further again in enjoying a passive income.

I tell you, that is a big deal.

Thanks for reading and if you liked it, please clap. Only then I know people are interested in further updates… Comments, also, very welcome!

--

--

FreeReveller

If anything, I’m a Happy Human Being, Life Hacker, Photographer, Audio Engineer and Thinker