GOD: A Human History

In our image

Reza Aslan
8 min readNov 8, 2017
Photo: Getty

When I was a child, I thought God was a large, powerful old man who lived in the sky — a bigger, stronger version of my father, but with magical powers. I imagined him handsome and grizzled, his long gray hair draped over his broad shoulders. He sat on a throne enwrapped by clouds. When he spoke, his voice boomed through the heavens, especially when he was angry. And he was often angry. But he was also warm and loving, merciful and kind. He laughed when he was happy and cried when he was sad.

I’m not sure where this image of God came from. I may have glimpsed it somewhere, painted on stained glass or printed in a book. It could be that I was born with it. Studies have shown that young children, no matter where they are from or how religious they may be, have a difficult time distinguishing between humans and God in terms of action or agency. When asked to imagine God, they invariably describe a human being with superhuman abilities.

As I grew older, I left behind most of my childish views. Yet the image of God remained. I was not raised in a particularly religious household, but I was always fascinated by religion and spirituality. My head teemed with half-formed theories about what God was, where he came from, and what he looked like (curiously, he still resembled my father). I didn’t want to simply know about God; I wanted to…

--

--

Reza Aslan

Author, Scholar, Producer, TV Host. My latest book is An American Martyr in Persia: The Epic Life and Tragic Death of Howard Baskerville.