5th Anniversary of the Finzel Indicators

Raymond
5 min readJan 2, 2018

--

I’ve been doing this every year, mostly because I think it’s important to take a few minutes at regular intervals to think deeply about my emotional state, desire, preference, and life trajectory. This is number 5. Number 4 is here.

Personal Culture:

  1. What is your favorite band? Cosmo Sheldrake, Nömak, Stan Rogers three way tie.
  2. What is the genre of music you listen to most? EDM with lots of foley work, sound design, and sonography
  3. What is your favorite pastime? Writing
  4. How do you spend most of your free time? Reading and watching explainer videos by myself or drama televison with Jane
  5. What is the most irksome thing in your day-to-day? Feeling directionless — chores and other work are not so annoying. I am capable of wasting endless time and energy in no particular direction at all.
  6. What do you admire? Level-mindedness in spite of or because of ambiguity and complexity
  7. Where do you work? The College of Pharmacy at the University of Minnesota
  8. Is there anywhere you’d rather work? Where? I’d rather be working for NASA or on my own (well funded) projects.
  9. What do you do at work? I build instruments for remote sensing in pharmaceutical studies. I create tools that organize and process data from those instruments.
  10. What would you rather do? Robotics and Aerospace are still super interesting, but I don’t know exactly what I’d be doing or why.

Stress:

  1. What is your biggest source of stress? Work, and the limited natures of time and attention
  2. What scares you most about the future? Not knowing whether I will ever know what I am supposed to be doing
  3. Do you think more about your present, past, or future? Present and Future — some days I just get through, but when life is good my planning horizon stretches and I think about the future. I don’t spend much time lingering on the past. The lessons I learned from the past are ingrained in my reflexes and habits, and not in my conscious mind.
  4. Do you actively combat your stressors, or keep your distance? I actively combat. If something makes me feel bad I do what I can to deal with it immediately.
  5. Have you been successful in your life? Not yet
  6. What is success? Love, safety, comfort, respect
  7. Does it feel like you have good friends that are a large part of your life? Yes, I live in a great house with great friends that I see frequently. I have a great extended circle of weirdo friends that I care about and that care about me.
  8. Are there actually good friends that are a large part of your life? YES! I’m always sad that there isn’t more time to invest in my friendships, but the friendships are there and I love them.
  9. Where did those friends, if any, come from? D&D, Minneapolis’s burner community, High School, College, Jane’s college friends
  10. Do you worry about money? Why? Yes, mostly because I know I should be putting up money for the future. I’m in the black, but money spent frivolously doesn’t pay interest.

Happiness:

  1. What is a hobby you would like to get in to? 3D printing, though this is so accessible that I’ll be into it literally tomorrow
  2. What is one type of thing you would like to do more of? Writing. It’s so calming, focusing, and positively habit building.
  3. Who holds the most sway over your happiness? My loved ones.
  4. What’s something that you’ve discovered to be enjoyable, recently? Learning new ways to think about old things
  5. Are you happier than the people around you on a daily basis? Sometimes! Been working on being joyful and appreciative.
  6. How much time do you spend actively engaged in an activity per day? 12 Hours
  7. How much time do you spend with your mind wandering per day? 4 Hours, though I think one of my biggest accomplishments this year is finding ways to make my wandering mind more positive and productive
  8. On a scale from 1 to 10, ten being most positive, how positive are your wandering thoughts? 8
  9. How often do you relax? A couple times a week?
  10. What separates relaxation from the rest of your time? Reprieve from responsibilities, gentle reading, television, or writing

Movement:

  1. Are you making progress towards your goals? Yes, slowly
  2. Are you living where you want to be living? Absolutely. I love the communal living situation that my friends and I have been cultivating for the last few years
  3. Do you often see the people you want to see? Yes, usually. It’s hard to find the time and energy to see everyone I want to see all the time, especially considering their geographical spread
  4. Are you in a job that is along your career path? Yes? I’m not sure I know what a career path is anymore. There aren’t “higher level” tech jobs that I’m even that interested in. Besides money it’s all horizontal promotion.
  5. Have you made enough money to finance your goals? All of the inexpensive ones
  6. Are your friends successful? Some are getting there! I know successful musicians, artists, and academics
  7. Are you a better person than you were before? I think so. I think my general understanding, capacity for empathy, and decision making skills are still improving.
  8. Would your loved ones say that you are a better person than you were before? Hah, definitely not certain.
  9. Would your colleagues say that you are a good person? Occasionally unreliable, but mostly good, I’d say
  10. What is your end goal? I want the respect and competencies necessary to self-determine in this world that is increasingly alienating

Silly things:

  1. What’s your favorite toothpaste? I’ve been using the same Costco toothpaste for so long that I’m not even sure I know. Probably still a baking soda one if I had the chance.
  2. How many pairs of pants do you own? 15?
  3. Do you have any socks with holes in them? Thread bare and threatening, but all such nice pairs that I really have to wait until the last minute to toss them
  4. Do you have a roommate? Jane ❤
  5. What is your favorite soda? Reed’s Ginger Brew
  6. What is your favorite liquor? Hmm, Gin?
  7. What do you read for fun? Mostly non-fiction books about interesting ideas or people
  8. What is your favorite video game? Haven’t played a video game seriously for a very long time
  9. What is your favorite T.V. show? Westworld was pretty dang good
  10. Are you on a diet? ……no

--

--