Creativity as Stress Relief

This past summer I experienced my first sensory deprivation chamber. The urge was sparked because I felt like I was being burned out by work. Thought I needed something to take my mind off of it.

It was a jolt of creativity and relaxation.

The chamber is meant to meditative, but there were times during the 60 minutes when my mind kept wandering. I tried to think of family, relationships, etc, but my mind kept going to work. And now that I think of it… I don’t know if that’s a bad thing. As soon as I emerged from the chamber I asked for a pen and paper to write down the various solutions that came to mind based on problems we are experiencing at work.

My mind is drawn to creativity, and right now, work is my creative outlet. That’s why it was hard for me to think of other things. It’s because those other things aren’t influencing me creatively. I’m very lucky to be in a situation where my work is a safe space to push my creativity to lengths it’s never been before. It’s like this huge Burning Man project or piece of art I’m working on. That’s what it feels like. . .

--

--

Richard Purcell: GTM Social Engineer

3X failed GTM leader who turned mistakes into a products for executing unconventional growth experiments