I am Thinking of Asking for a Break

When you become too emotionally exhausted to be in a relationship, time apart refocuses the mind.

Ruban F. Ribeiro

--

Photo by Khadeeja Yasser on Unsplash

“He has great qualities. He is kind, funny, usually very loving and he cares a lot. Though he’s just… changed.

So now my dilemma is this. I don’t want to end our relationship. But I want to have a break from him and maybe give him some time to get his feet under him. I want him to have the best chance possible to improve before I even think about ending it. But I don’t know how to talk to him about it. I’m a little scared. I just need advice on if this is a bad idea, or if it isn’t how I could go about it.”

(Early 20s, married two and a half years)

In a similar situation years ago, when I asked for a break thinking that it would help us, it only brought me perspective from a viewpoint I didn’t know existed. It took me a week to lose feelings, understand that I was being taken for granted, and that my mental state was being compromised. (4 year relationship, same age as you.)

After that time it was very, very difficult to even be near this person.

I never thought of taking a break as a salvation idea after that, but rather as releasing tension or pressure.

--

--

Ruban F. Ribeiro

A whole lot of honesty, some good sense and sound judgment. A writer who focuses on helping you better yourself. rubanribeiro@gmail.com