Liking Someone vs The Idea of Being With Someone

You don’t always have to split the two against each other. Learn truth from both.

Ruban F. Ribeiro

--

“grayscale photo of woman leaning on man's shoulder” by Abdi Lopez on Unsplash

“I don’t think I’ve ever liked anyone before. Now one of my close friends has expressed romantic interest, and I don’t know if what I’m feeling is because I also like him or if it’s because I like the idea of being in a relationship with him.”

Well, you definitely like him. Unless, somehow involuntarily, you become close friends with someone you don’t like.

I understand we’re talking about a different kind of like now, but my words remain true. You do not get close to someone you don’t like.

There is also the chance that you become close because one or the other liked the idea of being in a relationship. Only you can know this. If we’re speaking in ‘the chicken or the egg’ terms, this could really go either way.

The only “difference” worth mentioning about liking someone versus the idea of being with someone is time in-between.

In simple terms, you either grow to like them, hence liking the idea of being with them as well, or you like the idea of being with them, so you grow to like them.

--

--

Ruban F. Ribeiro

A whole lot of honesty, some good sense and sound judgment. A writer who focuses on helping you better yourself. rubanribeiro@gmail.com