Let me turn on my lamp in Florida, from New York

Ricky Funk
1 min readJan 4, 2019

--

I’m in Florida. I’m talking to Google Home in New York (I’m on the phone with my friend talking to his Google Home)… to turn on my lamp (well, just an LED) in Florida. Why would you do that? Well because I can and because it’s flipping (Moss, IT Crowd) awesome.

My friend Martin and I programmed an Arduino UNO to turn on a LED light, so far nothing crazy, right? Well we can also tell Alexa or Google to turn on the LED, Whaaaat? It’s easier than it sounds. Using adafruit and IFTTT, we made the connections so the Arduino connects to adafruit, adafruit connects to ifttt and then ifttt connects to alexa, google home, etc

ARDUINO > ADAFRUIT > IFTTT > ALEXA/GOOGLE HOME

Thanks for reading. I’m Ricardo Funk. If you like this piece, there’s a lot more where it came from. I enjoy developing code and applications that bring innovation. Passionate about writing, development and life.

--

--

Ricky Funk

I am dedicated to empower people to reach their full potential. Assuring a growth mindset, a theme of inspiring excellence, and empowering team members and lead