Ethiopian Airlines… who knew!

Roma Cronje
3 min readMar 8, 2018

--

After 8 months of resisting invitations to help my friend source stock for her boutique, I finally gave in and went with to China, Looking back I can’t believe I was so nervous, I’ve traveled before, alone, but never to that side!

Did I love it ?100%

The E ticket came through…..Connected flight Ethiopian airlines from Cape Town to Addis Ababa. I closed my laptop and had a slight panic attack…Ethiopian Airlines? Never really heard of them… With minimal reviews on google my anxiety levels went up. Headed for a country with no English, questionable food, An airline I never really knew existed from the middle of Africa!! Yikes. After great reinforcement from the Bidvest Lounge @ Cape Town international I was ready to face this fear head on! Now as we picture Africa travels with a sense of humor… I expect on embarking to find some duct tape at the emergency exit, a few chickens on an overhead rack and well perhaps luggage strapped to the roof. Instead, I found myself walking into the heaven of travel. Let me clarify we were travelling Business Class, I took the liberty to look through “cattle class” my norm in travel. The only difference…seat space and well no champagne, newspaper or chocolate. I was captured by Ethiopian music playing, friendly professional staff in traditional attire serving drinks on a tray, a spotless, immaculate aircraft waited to take us to Ethiopia. Fully recliner seats, TV screens, multiple movies, daily newspaper, music channels, head sets & plug points. I snuggled in my private cocoon and was more than ready for take-off.

Shortly into the trip heading towards Zambia dinner was served A la carte. The Food was different, not bad, some favorites like Salmon but mostly legumes, steamed chicken, peppers, cabbage. Regardless… the service and style remained top notch!

A few hours later we landed in Addis Ababa for our connected flight. Make sure that you are well aware of where to go once you disembark. The English is on a level of 30% respectfully and at 23:00 with only 25min to board we were on the wrong side of the airport. It became a logistical nightmare for 3 ladies travelling alone. With little direction we ran through a maze of construction from Domestic Arrivals to International Departures. Experienced a tough security check, people sleeping on floors and benches, overwhelmed by multiple prayer rooms, food containers, smoking zones and Amharic announcements over the speakers engulfed a culture shock.

Being the last to board with the walk of shame, Ethiopian staff were concerned, apologetic and helpful. Air hostesses stood waiting with that much needed glass of wine and snacks. Getting settled for some shut eye… we were off to Shanghai. On waking the next morning looking down over India, I was spoilt with champagne, Belgium chocolate and a mini birthday cake. It was a birthday to remember, thank you Ethiopian Airlines for a great memory.

On the return flight connecting again in Addis the daylight found a whole new perspective, hence the construction maze. A smooth 20min transition from one Boeing to the next. Addis Ababa Airport is being revamped, it’s a well-deserved project becoming that golden thread from the on-board to on-ground experience.

--

--