Cottage Core

Reliving My Childhood Fantasies

Rhea Barden
5 min readApr 2, 2024

Cottagecore as a term had not been invented when I was a child or even while I was a young adult. I appreciate the movement and others like it, but what I want to write about today is, at its core, something different...

Dear diary,

My little introverted heart is singing.

Today, I am being flooded with the nostalgia of my happiest childhood memories.

I have spent the entire morning reminiscing about many things that used to bring me so much joy.

And the best part is, it’s gently raining outside.

I have my freshly washed, soft and fluffy blanket wrapped around my arms.

It smells of savon de marseille laundry soap with orange blossoms, and I can’t stop bringing it to my nose for another deep sniff…

I have fondly been remembering my old bedroom and my beloved cat. I thought about all the books I have read. I recalled the hours I spent in the garden and climbing trees.

And I realized I still have the same hopes and dreams as I did back then.

One of the most common places I revisit from the past is my fancy white-and-gold, Louis XVI-inspired wooden desk I had in my bedroom as a young girl. I used a little trunk as a…

--

--