Image Source: Matthew Henry via StockSnap + edits.

Yoga Became My Rock

How yoga has helped calm my nerves, gain momentum to through each new day, and find a happy space to exercise without feeling burdened.

Dea

--

Greetings, HelloYoga Community — I’m back! Last year, I had the pleasure of sharing part of my story of self-development, self-discovery, and healing through yoga.

The feedback I received was heartwarming and much appreciated. Since then, I’ve realized that there are other aspects of my journey that some of you may find relatable. Namely, how yoga has become not only a calming influence but helped me to stay strong and persevere through the demands of each day. I hope you’ll find something in this second essay of mine that inspires your journey.

How often do we actually listen to our bodies?

While this may be a rhetorical question, it rings true for many of us in our busy lives. It was years before I came to the realization that I was ignoring mine. Finally, after recovering from a grave illness and soul-searching, I returned to the solace that comes from having an established and regular yoga practice.

Image Source: StockSnap via Pixabay + edits.

From the age of eighteen to twenty-eight, I was “in and out” of yoga classes, positively acknowledging their benefits while not realizing they were an absolute necessity for my life. I slowly slipped back into letting the demands of daily life and work take over, rationalizing that, “at some later point I can get back to this.”

Not allowing the headspace to accommodate my yoga practice was not very wise on my part. Despite knowing full well its benefits, I neglected my practice in favor of study, work, and other commitments. Sure enough, a dull weariness eventually took over my being even though I was on a healthy diet.

Through consciously observing this transition, I was hit with a revelation: This wasn’t what I wanted. Just being in a state of getting by is not good enough. A buoyant, energetic life and jubilant spirit are what I now aim for.

The Right Way to Approach Yoga

I firmly resolved to begin attending yoga classes to heal my body with the hope to make it a lifelong practice. This time, rather than haphazardly jumping into any class that looked good, I decided to take a methodical approach that would fit my health situation.

I chose a yoga institute and on my first day, went in to give my medical history to its founder. She was beautifully compassionate and also said that the practice would prepare my body to conceive a child. She and her instructors consulted with a team of doctors and decided to ease me into yoga asanas (poses) gently and slowly.

For example, the first three classes:

  • The first class was designed with medical patients’ needs in mind and was structured around poses that required no effort such as lying down in Shavasana (Corpse Pose) and sitting on bolsters (a long narrow cushion). The emphasis was on mindfulness and observing our breath.
  • The second class got slightly more physical by introducing some reclining and seated asanas that involved gentle stretching.
  • The third class was a little challenging but felt great.
This is me doing Cobra Pose. It is said to strengthen the spine, stretch the chest, shoulders, and abdomen, firm the buttocks, and relieve stress and fatigue.

As this gradual progression worked its magic and calmed my nerves, I came to recognize that the “dealing with and owning my shame” part of the illness was something I could get a grip on.

I began to understand that each class was carefully designed to prepare my mind and body for the next stage. I marveled at how the founder intuitively understood where my body and readiness was at. She could appreciate the subtle and contradictory nuances such as my being fragile yet flexible at the same time. While I could do some of the more advanced asanas, I lacked stamina and strength.

I was fascinated by this method of applying yoga as a healing modality and not just an exercise for getting fit. It humbled me when I saw people practicing and teaching in such a pure way. The teachers cared enough to work with the students and anticipate what they were going to feel in the next minute during the practice.

Mindful movements guided by the wisdom of ancient methods can work wonders on the mind, body, and soul. While I know of many asanas and can do most of them, my body cannot be pushed to such extremes yet. My classes are tailored to my medical history, and while the practices may look basic, they are advanced in their methods.

I Can’t Ignore the Results

When I reflect on how my general wellness has fluctuated over the years, I realize that it was those periods that I was regularly practicing yoga that I felt happier and more at ease. Many of yoga’s benefits go unnoticed but are actually the real proof of the pudding.

And, this is me doing Camel Pose. This kneeling backbend is excellent for spinal, hip and shoulder flexibility.
  • Clarity: The months and years without yoga had me out of sync with my body’s needs and feeling clumsy with even the simplest of daily activities. Regular yoga practice has made me sharper.
  • Immunity: I used to be the first one to catch the flu during the monsoon season. However, this year everyone around me caught it except me. My colds have significantly improved too.
  • Energy: In the afternoons I would struggle to keep my eyes open and have to lay down. Often what was meant to be just a brief nap turned into two hours of deep sleep. This has changed due to my yoga practice and some days I don’t need a siesta at all.
  • Self-Identity: I’ve realized that my work doesn’t define me. By being one with my inner self, I can tap into the rhythm of the universe and the real me that is trying to shine from within.

Why I Go to Yoga Classes

I attend classes twice a week and look forward them. Rather than regarding them as an escape from the stresses of my days, they bring an authentic feeling of wholeness to my being.

Taking a class that works first on my mind and then on my body is calming, reassuring, and empowering. The instructors repeatedly tell us to seek a full stretch, but back off if we feel any pain. I feel safe in knowing that I am being taken care of.

There is power residing within all of us. Learning to breathe correctly through pranayama helps us tap into it. Our energy shapes our reality. We can learn to direct our thoughts towards what we want to achieve in life.

The Great Power of Doing Absolutely Nothing

These days, I regard Shavasana with the respect it deserves thanks to a special class where we practiced it for a full hour.

Corpse Pose. Image Source: Windy Schneider via Pixabay + edits.

When the state of nothingness lasts for a few minutes, it is easy. However, doing it for an hour was profound. Controlling my racing mind was the hardest part. I was relaxed but tense at the same time. This duality felt strange but was precisely what my body needed. The deep meditative state was alien yet shed light on many things.

This asana is called the Corpse Pose because it helps us realize that one day we will have no consciousness or awareness. Paradoxically, it can make us feel alive in the moment. I felt as if my body was being charged for when I awoke. There was music playing in the background someone singing a soothing and soulful melody. We were told to listen to sounds that correspond to our body parts. I marveled at the origins and profundity of this ancient practice.

While instructions during the hour were tailored towards each student, depending on their physical condition, we all felt it was a profound experience. Once it was over, while I was trying to make sense of it all, the founder told us that this is the state we should be in when starting our asana practice. This prepares the body to be more sensitive to feelings.

I left the class feeling content, uplifted, and comfortable in my body.

Ready to Try Yoga?

Whether you are stressed, dealing with health issues, seeking to improve your overall well-being, or desiring to be at one with yourself, I believe yoga has something for you.

--

--

Dea

I have studied creative writing. I’m passionate about writing about lifestyle, wellness and spirituality