Wunderkammer [cabinet of wonders]

Rachel Headrick
2 min readOct 5, 2016

--

Asked to display a collection of items that represent me, I had no idea where to start. Generally, I enjoy objects for 1 of 2 reasons; for the beauty they offer to a room, or the various functions they serve. For example, in my home, objects are carefully arranged on my bookshelf, China cabinet, coffee table only to add interest or beauty to the corners they inhabit. On the other hand, I store other kinds of functional objects all over the house for my daily use (kitchen tools, design supplies, etc). Neither of these two categories, however, really qualified the title, “wonder.”

As a result, I chose a group of objects that somehow represent different phases of interest or experience throughout my life.

Our possessions also say a lot about who we are as designers and speak loudly to others about what we care about… looking at our things can provide a gateway to reflect more deeply on our actions, beliefs, relationships, etc.

From an outsider looking in, these were the kinds of descriptions written about my Wunderkammer
-the objects are focussed on identity: “Who am I as an individual, as a member of a family, as a white person with Asian background.”
-“Maybe these were meaningful experiences in their life maybe the rocks were collected while on those trips…”
-“Everything on the table is arranged with care- everything has a place and possibly a purpose.”

After hearing outsiders’ perspective, I began to realize that my objects are symbolic. As plain objects they are not necessarily precious to me, but as symbols of experience, growth, and relationships, they are hugely significant. Oriented around stories, I see the objects as mnemonic devices, which trigger memories and personal growth from past events in my life. Each of these 10 objects act as a platform by which I can understand and represent myself to others.

--

--