Week 11

Jade Richardson
3 min readMar 31, 2024

--

wife’s arm falling V02

I edited the shot of the wife’s arm falling with the lightning shot, I may go back and tweak things but for now it works okay.

wife’s arm falling V03

I realised that I set each PNG in After effects to last for two frames so I ended up with twice as many frames as I should have and as a result the animation was slower that it should have been.

Old woman curse V01

so far this week I have cleaned up the line art, added in-betweens and colour. I still need to work out how I will add the evil aura.

Knock on door V02

The test version of the knock on the door had some issues that needed to be fixed, the old woman's hair was inconsistent between frames. I also added a blink and added colour.

Knock on door V03

Animation so far

This is how the animation is currently looking It is starting to take shape but there is still a lot to do and many things that could be improved. I have been able to add another version of the voice over to the animatic/animation. (credit to Robert Johnson) The timing defiantly needs work so I will have to adjust my animation to fit with the voice over.

Here is a list of current tasks/issues that will need to be addressed

Task list:

Change the knock on the door shot so that the knock feels more desperate and believable

  • Animate the door opening/old woman's reaction to the earl
  • Animate the tree becoming chained
  • Add rain and make the storm shot more stormy
  • Add sound effects eg, rain, wind and thunder
  • Animate the curse aura
  • Finish backgrounds and add them to shots
  • Animate and replace the old woman in the establishing shot and shot 2
  • Add more movement to the earls body (when angry)

I will be trying to animate the door opening shot next or the evil aura. After I have done that I want to animate the old oak getting chained up. after I have done that I will be tweaking shots

I have watched this video for inspiration and ideas to improve the door opening shot

I have decided to work on the shot where the old oak becomes chained, I might change the end of the shot where the chains fade and make the chains move out of the shot again instead.

Since working on the chain shot I have re edited my current animation and it is still looking a little rough, some of the animated shots need to be extended or have backgrounds added and other shots I am yet to start.

I have started working on one of the things that have worried me most, adding the evil aura to the old woman.

1st attempt

The first attempt I made wasn’t working out so I found this tutorial but I wasn’t happy with the results. I think I might work on the shot where the old woman asks for money and come back to this shot after. I am very conscious of the time I have left and I want to get as much done as I can, as well as I can.

--

--