Week 12

Reflections

Jade Richardson
5 min readApr 7, 2024

I still have quite a bit to do and after having so far failed to animate the evil aura last week I'm feeling a bit defeated and concerned about deadlines. Honestly I don’t feel like I have done as well during this project as I could have.

updated to do list:

  • Finish old woman curse shot (animate evil aura and add background)
  • Animate Hand shot (woman asking for money) animation is done but I need to add the background
  • Animate the door opening/Old woman’s reaction to the Earl
  • Add background to remaining shots that don’t have one
  • add diegetic sound (wind, thunder)
  • add rain and make the storm shot more stormy
  • animate and replace the old woman in the establishing shot and shot 2
  • add more movement to the Earls body when he is angry
  • double check animation for animating and editing mistakes and add last minute improvements.

Working on the hand shot (old woman asking for money)

I had to practice the shape of the hand before starting so I didn't some sketches in my sketchbook

next I will be adding backgrounds and making changes to the Earl, Also I added a sleeve to the arm before adding it to the edit, I realised I had forgotten to add it to the shot.

The main issue now is my poor camera angles, particularly during the interactions between the old woman and the Earl.

My main priorities now are working on the final interactions between the Earl and the old woman and animating the evil aura.

I am currently working on the shots at the door where the Earl and the old woman interact.

I have added this shot to the edit but it is a lot shorter than it is on the animatic so I either need to make it longer, add am extra shot or make the shots before or after a bit longer. I think I will fix the knock at the door shot and put a plan into place after I have finished it.

Changing the Earl shot

I decided that the shot of the Earl looking at the woman was too static I decided to think about it from the Old Woman’s perspective and since the Earl is much taller and larger than her I felt the camera should start at the earls feet and move upwards as if the woman is looking up towards the intimidating Earl.

Earl in krita

I decided that the best way to achieve the camera movement would be to draw the rest of the Earls body, I took one of the frames I had saved from Tv Paint and imported it into Krita. I also had to ensure that the canvas was large enough (I doubled the height so 1920 x 1080 went to 1920 x 2160) However I still need to extend the background to show more of the doorway and add the floor.

I used after Effects to add the camera movement. changing this shot has also made me thing about the ways in which I could change the other shots to make them more effective. for example the shot where the Earl gets angry could be improved by adding a slow zoom into the Earls face.

I have added the new shots to my animation to reassess what needs doing next. It also gives me a little motivational boost as adding the scenes makes the project feel closer to completion. My main goal now is to animate the curse shot, after that I will need to add final changes to assets like backgrounds and add camera movements in addition to re editing the narration and adding rain, wind and thunder sound effects. I would also like to make a custom font for a short title sequence.

Working on the old woman curse shot

I have used the same technique that I found on the tutorial to make the background. I made the circle templates larger and tried to make them more randomised. I still have to add the aura coming from the mouth. When I take the frames into after effects I will decrease the opacity of the aura.

Changing the establishing shot and the stair shot

I wanted the old woman to be in a 1/3 view so I made this model to help me draw the angle. I’m not quite happy with how the old woman is looking but it definitely looks better than the original because she is now in the same art style as the other shots.

--

--