The Best VR Meditation App (Better than Headspace)

The best VR meditation experience comes from an app that may surprise you, I discovered it by accident.

RichCanadian
4 min readMar 4, 2024
Escape your living room with this immersive meditation app.

Every morning for the past few weeks, I have been getting up really (really) early. This is new for me, as I’ve been a night owl for most of my life, with a bedtime between 11pm and 2am. Having kids changed all that.

In a hurry? Scroll to the bottom of this article for 30 days free for the Best VR Meditation App!

To be more productive, I took a page from James Clear’s Atomic Habits and became an early riser. My logic was that I would get up early, get a few things done, and be ahead for the day.

But a lot of unexpected things happened.

I quickly realized that the blue light that ruins your sleep has the opposite effect in the morning. So, as a life hack to wake myself up first thing in the morning, I immediately look at my phone. You’d be surprised how effective checking a few emails is in the morning to wake up.

It wasn’t long before I realized that my virtual reality headset was even more effective at waking me up, so I would blast away targets in my favorite game (the best VR fitness app).

The fact is, I had been using Supernatural VR for over a year, mainly in the evenings, because I didn’t have any other available time.

Time for meditation has always eluded me. I’ve always been in so much of a rush (and intolerant of wasting time) to ever spend time meditating. But, over the years, I’ve seen more and more people touting meditation for busy professions to get more productivity out of their day.

Yet still, I resisted.

The first time I tried meditation was during my first yoga session at home. It was a remarkable experience, but I didn’t stick with it. The second attempt was after reading The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari, and that didn’t last. But, I kept hearing influential people talking about meditation. The one who finally convinced me was Steven Kotler, author of The Rise of Superman and The Art of Impossible.

I had adopted the principles of Deep Work and Flow into my daily work routine, which was life-changing. It was time to finally make an honest attempt at meditation, which has always eluded me until now.

And to my surprise, I already had the best meditation app. Aside from Flow, Kickboxing, and Stretching, the fitness app I’ve been using nearly daily also features meditation.

My morning routine felt better when I followed my Supernatural workout with a meditation session. My productivity was better, and I was also less tired during the day and did not have to dread working out in the evenings anymore when my energy was already low. Bathing my eyeballs in 5 to 10 minutes of bright, immersive outdoor scenes first thing in the morning (before all the thoughts had flooded my mind) improved my focus during the day.

While others enjoy them, I believe the breathwork exercises are a complete waste of time, but I find the short guided meditations with Coach Doc inspiring.

If guided meditation isn’t for you, Supernatural has these meditation sessions called Moment, which are just 10-minute sessions on your own, in tranquility to reflect on whatever you want.

There are several reasons to add meditation to your day;

  1. Stress Reduction: The most common reason people try meditation. The stress hormone cortisol can cause inflammation, sleep disruption, depression, anxiety, increased blood pressure, fatigue, and cloudy thinking. Meditation can reduce it.
  2. Anxiety control: Meditation can reduce stress, which translates to less anxiety.
  3. Improves Mental / Emotional Health: Meditation can improve positive outlook, self-image, and reduce or eliminate depression.
  4. Improved Self-Awareness: To enhance your self-understanding, inner reflection, and meditation is a good start.
  5. Lengthens Attention Span: Your attention and focus are like a muscle; the only way to improve them is to exercise them, and meditation is the way to improve your focus.
  6. Reduce Memory Loss: Multiple meditation styles can increase attention, memory, and mental quickness. This was more pronounced in studies of older people.
  7. Generate Kindness: Through practice, people can develop positive and kind thoughts towards themselves and extend kindness and forgiveness to friends, family, and (eventually) enemies.
  8. Fight addition: Help manage triggers for unwanted impulses that manifest as personal addictions (over-eating, drugs, alcohol, etc).
  9. Improves Sleep: Help relax and control runaway thoughts that are particularly detrimental to sleeping and reduce the time it takes to fall asleep.
  10. Control pain: The mind is powerful, and meditation can reduce and control pain in certain people and conditions.
  11. Decrease Blood Pressure: Much like you can control pain with meditation, you can also reduce strain on your heart with meditation. Over time, a stressful life can cause atherosclerosis (narrowing of arteries which leads to heart attack and stroke). Reducing stress through meditation can help.

Please don’t wait as long as I did. Everyone who said you should be doing meditation (or something mindful) is correct. You can either get started on your own or do what I do and use a VR meditation app.

To get started today, I will give you a free 30-day trial to Supernatural!

These free trial codes were re-populated on Aug 6,2024:

If, for some reason, all the free trial codes are used, you can email me at jay@richcanadian.com, and I’ll give you your own personal code.

Want a better deal? If you don’t already have a Meta Quest 3 or an Oculus Quest 2 headset, click here and get $35 free Meta store credit when you buy one!

Want more reviews, life hacks, and valuable tips? Clap and Follow me. It helps me out more than you know! This article contains links that I financially benefit from.

--

--

RichCanadian

Rich in Life, Love, and Business. Jay Van Ginneken is a tech entrepreneur, affiliate marketer, investor, mountain biker, and gamer. Email: jay@richcanadian.com