An Ode To Tailwind

Rich Klein
Feb 8, 2022

--

Day 2 of odes to my favorite open source web development frameworks continues with TailwindCSS. The success of Tailwind is a story of going against the grain. Sometimes best practices aren’t the best for everyone. And if you’re feeling frustrated, chances are you’re not alone. Thanks to Adam Watham, Jonathan Reinink, and the entire Tailwind team.

Semantic styles, what a chore.
Naming classes; I abhor.
Decoupled CSS, please … no more!
Just use Tailwind; I implore.

What is Tailwind? I’ll explain…
Frontends easier to maintain.
Utility classes keep me sane.
The best of CSS, without the pain.

If this sounds great? Here’s how to start…
The docs are like a work of art.
Configure it any way that fits the part.
Tailwind quickly wins your heart.

--

--

Rich Klein

Writer of things. Mostly technical, sometimes not. A few poems sprinkled into the lot.