“…the hollow men…” and so on…

Richard Subber
3 min readAug 23, 2017

--

a bloomin’ wasteland, maybe…

Thomas Stearns Eliot (1888–1965)

American-British writer, popularly acclaimed as a great poet of the 20th century

At long last, I’ve tried T. S. Eliot’s poetry.

Maybe I’ll put Collected Poems of T. S. Eliot back on the shelf, and try again after a while.

Maybe not.

“…We are the hollow men

We are the stuffed men…”

From “The Hollow Men,” 1925, by T. S. Eliot

It’s not that I mind Eliot’s deliberate contradictions so much. I’m willing to be provoked. I’m open to being tantalized. I’m ready to be pushed or pulled outside my comfort zone.

The sticky point for me, with Eliot’s poetry, is that I never seem to get to the point, or maybe I simply don’t get the point. When I get to the end of one of his longish poems, I’m really not sure where I started, or where I wandered, or where I arrived.

I find little coherence in Eliot’s words and phrases and passages.

I think of myself as a wordsmith, and I love the beauty of elegant phrases and shimmering, specific, steely, selective, stately, splendid words that tell a delicious story or evoke a bloom of emotion.

For my taste, T. S. Eliot’s poetry isn’t tasty, and it’s a bloomin’ wasteland of jumbled words, fractured images, and unfinished imaginations.

If you’re wondering where all the flowers have gone, don’t look for answers in Eliot’s work.

Source: T. S. Eliot, Collected Poems of T. S. Eliot (New York: Harcourt, Brace & Company, 1958), 101.

* * * * * *

A little time together…

a new love poem…

click here

Copyright © Richard Carl Subber 2017 All rights reserved.

My first book of poems, Writing Rainbows: Poems for Grown-Ups with 59 new poems, is for sale on Amazon (paperback and Kindle), or free in Kindle Unlimited, click here

On this website you can read: my poetry in free verse and 5–7–5 format — nature poems, love poems, poems about grandchildren, and a spectrum of other topics — written in a way that makes it possible for you to know, as precisely as possible, what’s going on in my mind and in my imagination; thoughtful book reviews that offer some exceptional critique of the book instead of a simple book summary; examinations of history that did and didn’t happen; examples of my love affair with words; reflections on the quotations, art, and wisdom of famous and not-so-famous people, and occasional comments on politics and human nature.

Your comments on my poems, book reviews and other posts are welcome.

Book review: How to Tell A Story

by Mark Twain, some of his tall tales…

click here

* * * * * *

← Sparkly splashing, the kids won’t stop…

Follow Rick on Facebook

Follow Rick on Amazon

Buy from Amazon
Buy from Amazon Kindle

Originally published at Richard Subber.

--

--

Richard Subber

I am a poet, a thinker. My two poetry books, Writing Rainbows and Seeing far, available on Amazon. Check my website: http://richardsubber.com/