The wisdom of W. H. Auden

Richard Subber
1 min readNov 18, 2016

--

“…the only one who ever lived…”

Probably you’ve heard of Wystan Hugh (W. H.) Auden (1907–1973), a renowned English poet who became an American citizen and wrote poetry all over the place. Not my favorite poetry, by the way, just sayin’….

Auden was capable of disarming candor and he was willing to look in the mirror while his pen was moving:

“No poet or novelist wishes he were the only one who ever lived, but most of them wish they were the only one alive, and quite a number fondly believe their wish has been granted.”

If you’re a poet or a novelist, try saying it ain’t so.

I’m a poet.

I’ll try again.

Auden quote from The Dyer’s Hand (Vintage, 1962, 1989), his collection of prose commentary on poetry, art and life, as cited in The Best American Poetry 2008, Scribner Poetry, New York, 2008, xiii.

Copyright © Richard Carl Subber 2016 All rights reserved.

Originally published at by Richard Subber.

--

--

Richard Subber

I am a poet, a thinker. My two poetry books, Writing Rainbows and Seeing far, available on Amazon. Check my website: http://richardsubber.com/