Thank You: A Gift Overdue

Rida Asif
2 min readAug 13, 2021

--

‘Thank You’

A word that should be more overrated than ‘I Love You’ somehow loses the game by quite a large margin. Maybe that’s why it is true in its essence. Maybe that’s why people melt at the sight of a hand-written letter.

Thanking someone seems so hard to do. Maybe that’s why people experience an extra lift around their lips, because they’ve been touched in its sincerest sense.

We don’t say thank you often. Maybe that’s why we fall deeper but become stronger every time we hear it.

Maybe?

Maybe.

This activity was more than a project for me. It was a venture. A sweet walk down the memory lane. A warm hug, a welcoming smile.

I wrote letters to my friends, and wrote my heart out. Tried experimenting with colors, and gave them a splash of different shades, just like our friendship. It was red, white, blue. I recalled how excited we get when we are together. How energy just crawls in our veins, but only to explode once we are together. I realized how much we’ve done for each other. And how much of it was done knowingly. Pretty much unknowingly.

It was a beautiful experience that I had been meaning to recall, and thank God I did that.

My friends also loved them! One even started sobbing which made me cry as well. That explains the power of one truly-meant Thank You.

--

--