Make Kindness the Norm

Rida Zaineb
4 min readNov 29, 2019

--

Kindness is the best thing a person can experience. A person can be richest by just a single act of kindness. Helping others is one of the simplest ways to fill others and our life with joy and happiness. It gives your soul, a satisfaction of fulfillment.

5 Random Acts of Kindness

Sometimes just a few words of kindness are more than enough to make someone’s day brighter. Words of kindness can heal a broken heart and calm a stressful mind.I practiced 5 Random acts of kindness in last 2 days.

The first thing I did was just few words I used to calm a stressful mind. My dear friend and Amal fellow Waqas had an exam yesterday. He was really worried about it because he was not fully prepared. I texted him early in the morning just before his exam and wished him Best of luck and told him that I’ll pray for him, this literally made his day. He wasn’t expecting my text early in the morning. Just a simple act and few words of kindness can bring smile on someone’s face & can make his whole day worth living. And then after his exam I helped him in his project work so that he can submit it on time.

Helping Friends

I went to university early just because my friends asked me to do so, because they wanted to prepare quiz of bio statistics with me. Few of my friends were having trouble in preparing bio statistics. I went to university 3 hours earlier and helped them preparing quiz. It was tough for me because of my busy routine but still I managed somehow. I love helping others and I do this with all my heart. If any of my friends or fellows have trouble in completing their work or preparing for exam or quiz I always teach them and help them.

Family Above All

Kindness and compassion are the basic need of any relation. Love can grow on a plant of kindness. The next act of kindness was with my sister who wasn’t feeling well yesterday, despite being very busy with my assignment and project work I left my work and helped her. I took care of my niece whole day from her food to her bath I did everything for her although I was worried for my project work too but this gave my soul satisfaction.

I also cooked food which I’m not good at but still I managed to cook rice because my mother is also ill and sister who came to help me because of my busy routine also got ill, so now I have to take care of both of them and house too.

Lastly when I woke up today I prepared breakfast for my mother and sister although both of them didn’t ask me to do that because they know I am busy and stuck in my assignments and project works but still I did this little act of kindness to make them happy.

So, the purpose of writing all these random acts down is just to make the readers realize that how important kindness and compassion is.What it feels like when you see a smile on someone’s face just because of you. Try to do little acts of kindness, and trust me it will make your inner self happy and you’ll see yourself flourishing and nourishing.

Relevance to the Job

After reading this title you must be wondering how these acts are relevant to the job and working environment?

Kindness is not only restricted to your friends and family. You can practice it in your home, office, streets, with animals and even with your enemies. It can change yours and their lives as well.

Let me tell you one thing working professionally or doing a job is not all about competition and leg pulling of others. It’s about how efficiently you work in a team. How mind full you are in managing your tasks. Kindness and compassion is the key to your success, your intelligence won’t help you alone you must beautify it with your kind deeds in order to succeed.

Jacqueline Novograts, CEO of ACUMEN Fund wrote in her one of the best selling books, “The Blue Sweater”; she wrote about when she went to Cambodia and met to a Buddhist monk and the monk told her:

“ If you move through your life with only your intellect, you are walking on one leg, so you are hopping and if you move through life with only your compassion, then you walk on one leg. But if you move in your life with both your intellect and compassion, then you have wisdom”

So, to move in your life and your job intellect alone is not enough you have to be kind with your team, with your peon or an office boy. You have to lift others up in order to lift yourself.

--

--