Essential Longboarding Tips for all longboarders.

Vicky Joshi
6 min readMar 31, 2022

--

1. Don’t skate in the rain

Tip number one, and I’m extremely passionate about this one, don’t skate in the rain. I see a lot of longboarders who utilise their deck that they use for tricks and dancing and freestyle and such to skate down a rainy road. You should not do that because it simply screws everything up. It messes with the wood in the board, it messes up the bearings, the trucks, the wood will become soaky and lose its like hardness, and the pop will not be as crispy as it used to be.

People are often complaining about their bearings being scrumpy, that they have to push too hard, that the bearings won’t continue rolling, and a lot of those people are also skating in the rain, and if they do, they’ve just taken away their rights to complain about that type of stuff.

2. Hold your board Properly.

The second suggestion is to hold your board with the grip tape facing away from you. This grip tape is very happy to mess up your shirts, so when you’re holding your board with the grip tape on your side, you’ll essentially be rubbing grip tape against your clothing, and you’ll end up with a lot of messed up clothing, as I did when I first started, only to realise later that it’s the grip tape that’s causing it.

Of course, by then it’s too late and you’ll have to go buy a bunch of new shirts and hoodies , so just have this against your shirt while this might be dirty and your clothes are probably dirty anyways because you went skating and if you’re anything like me, you spend about 25% of your skate sessions on the ground, so that’s tip number two very quick and easy.

3. Wear Protective Gear.

Wearing safety gear is a really crucial recommendation in my opinion. When I first started, I was required to constantly wear a helmet, looking back to that i really approved from that and i’m very happy i did and as you start your skating journey you will surely fall a lot. So I strongly advise wearing helmets because it’s really awkward to fall because you don’t know how to fall, you don’t know how to respond when you’re falling, and I know that a lot of people will, for example, put their hands in the ground, causing wrist injuries. You had to think about it — messing up their wrists, messing up their elbows, is not good at all.

Protective gear helps you get less hurt, which is always a plus, but it also really helps in other contexts, such as giving you confidence when you’re struggling with a trick. Often, wearing extra protective gear, such as helmets, elbow pads, wrist pads, and knee pads, will give you that little bit of extra confidence and might just push you over the edge to help you land a trick.

4. Listen good music while riding.

Moving on to suggestion number four, which is to select decent music to listen to while skating. I know a lot of people don’t listen to music, but I believe more people do, and I know it helps a lot of people. It helps them get into a specific mentality and can also assist you with confidence, so selecting excellent music to listen to and putting it on while skating can be a major benefit for a lot of individuals.

5. Carry water and a snack.

When I go out to start a session, I’m never hungry or thirsty, so I often leave it at home, but then after like just getting warmed up, I’m already thirsty and hungry as hell, so a lot of my sessions have been cut short simply because I’m super hungry and thirsty and I don’t want to keep skating when I’m super hungry and thirsty.

So, yes, bring water. packing a snack every time you go out skating. Even if you don’t think you’ll need it, you probably will (and you’ll also need it if you’re making a video). So there you have it, tip number six for you!
You already know you need to remain hydrated.

6. Wear skate shoes while skateboarding or longboarding

I really recommend getting skateboarding shoes while your longboarding or skateboarding. I think it’s a very basic thing, but I see a lot of longboarders wearing non-skateboard shoes and I always feel bad for their feet because it can’t be comfortable man, so yeah skateboard shoes they offer more protection for your feet they offer better impact cushioning and I think that’s very important and for your legs, your knees, your ankles.

7. Carry necessary tools and equipments.

Carry some spare hardware with you. Something I usually bring with me is an extra wheel with a bearing already installed. I’ve had quite a few circumstances when my wheel pops off, and everytime I have an additional wheel, I praise myself for being well prepared, and it doesn’t take up much room to be honest.Another thing to have on hand are spare nuts and bolts, which seem to go misplaced while you’re skating for some inexplicable reason.

So, with only a small bag, you can keep some of the most important — like an additional part of all the nuts and bolts that are on your boards — and you’ll always be ready to go. Of course, you’ll want a T-tool that will assist you in a variety of circumstances and let you to alter your setup as you go. If you need to loosen or tighten your trucks, or if something comes loose while skating, carrying this in your backpack is quite useful.

8. Right Age to start longboarding.

I get a lot of people telling me that they’re uncomfortable starting to longboard because they’re too old or too young and they’re uncertain about it, and while I understand that it’s less obvious to start longboarding when you’re in your 40s or 50s, but I don’t see any issues in there. I’ve met some awesome people who started longboarding in their 40s or 50s.You shouldn’t expect to become the world longboarding champion, but I also don’t think it will be your um, priority.

So yeah, just to let you know that it’s just your perspective, and I don’t think anyone will judge you for it, and I don’t think you should judge yourself for it, so if you want to start longboarding or get back into longboarding just give it a shot, and see if you enjoy it, and if you don’t, well you didn’t lose anything by trying, right?
So, there you have it: 8 very practical things I wish I had known when I first started longboarding.

If you are also looking for some more essential guide or information on various topics related to longboards you can check our website RidingLongboards.com.

Thank You.

--

--