Exuberant

Syarifah Riefandania
2 min readMar 2, 2020

--

Being an exuberant person is challenging.

When something triggered you and you were really inspired, enlighted and there’s a full of energy to do enormous things, full speed… and then suddenly you just hit your brake to stop everything and change the direction way off your first destination. Boom! You know that deep down inside you, that’s inevitable! You know that at some point, you are gonna do that!

So bad that I want to do something else to distract from all things that made me not reaching out to my destination.

No wonder, Possibly I have that trait inside me (actually, it’s already confirmed. Feedback is a gift!). For me, that’s why it’s challenging. I am well aware this is a fatal flaw that needs to manage as soon as ASAP.

Let me share with you how I conquer what I labeled “enthusiastic panda” and set boundaries for myself and keep on track to reach my goals.

Prioritize what’s important.

“Rifie, you can’t work four projects at once. You will not achieved anything.”

I keep telling myself that. Every single morning. I’m imagining these words come from my boss with a high tone and with an almost angry voice.

Finally, I realize prioritizing is so important. Since I am easily distracted, I keep journals and write about priorities and visualize what’s the outcome that I want to feel after arrived at the finished line, no matter how far.

I spend daily in the morning before I go commute to work for 15 minutes.

Focus on What Matters.

“Rifie, never focus on peripheral things! Start doing on what’s important!”

This straight into my heart. Kinda cuts like a knife. If I want to focus and do deep work, I get rid of my phone. So, get shit done! So, if I want to focus on work, first, I visualized how I want to feel. Mostly, I want to feel that I will have lots of time to read or listen to my daughter's story throughout her day without thinking about what work I haven’t finished.

It’s okay to do mundane tasks

“Yes! Rifie! You need to finish what you start! No excuses.”

Well, those mundane tasks are part of projects, right? How come I set aside those!

I repeat that every day to remind me that I need to finish up what I started.

Now, I can distribute my energy and enthusiasm in a productive way and more than happy that I already have my personal accomplishments

Well.. thanks for reading. I hope that helps if you have some challenges like I do.

--

--

Syarifah Riefandania

Go live the moment 📷 📚 🎶 work life in #Productmgmt. Never give up but i submitted. Verily, with the hardship, there is relief.