CS 373: Rodrigo Garcia

Rodrigo X. Garcia
2 min readApr 24, 2022

--

What did you do this past week?

This past week I worked on my algorithms homework, met with my SWE group to discuss the next project phase, and hung out with my family during the weekend.

What’s in your way?

Nothing is in my way. I have my algorithms homework but that is already factored into my work and planning for the week. My group also already discussed who would be working on what during this next phase, so I already know what I need to do.

What will you do next week?

I will finish my algorithms homework early so that I can devote more concentrated time towards creating the visualizations for the next phase. I will also research which is the best visualization package for react/JS for our data.

What did you think of Paper 13. What Happens to Us Does Not Happen to Most of You?

I was surprised that we weren't reading a more technical/design blog about software engineering. However, I am glad this paper was chosen for us to read because it sheds light on the dark sides of the industry. The culture and inclusion within the industry is an important part of CS/Tech that often gets overlooked.

What was your experience of subqueries and refactoring.? (this question will vary, week to week)

I thought it was a good topic to learn. Whether we will be using databases or SQL in our work as software engineers does not matter, it would be good to learn about the basics of how databases work.

What made you happy this week?

This week my friends and I played Catan and Pictionary on Thursday night. It was really fun and I think it might be my new favorite board game. Also Whataburger at 3AM hits so hard.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

Always carry a usb-c dongle with you! I have a macbook so I only have two usb-c ports on my laptop. This means I can usually only charge my laptop and nothing else. But, I purchased a usb-c dongle on amazon and now I can connect my laptop to many of the work stations on campus with an open hdmi cable. I can use two monitors at the gdc, which definitely improves my productivity.

--

--