My Eight-Year-Old Stopped Disney World

Are you still on a ride you don’t like? What’s your excuse?

Riley McLynn
5 min readAug 9, 2022
Photo by Matt Bowden on Unsplash

My kid stood up when everyone else was sitting down.

Do you go along for the ride or stand up for yourself?

Sometimes we take the path of least resistance because we don't want to rock the boat. I pride myself on being easy-going, but that isn't the right approach in all situations.

We teach our kids to stand up to peer pressure and do the right thing. But do we practice what we preach?

If everyone else jumped off a bridge, would you?

The real-life story that follows has provided us with endless laughs, but there are valuable nuggets of wisdom within. I'll sprinkle in a few lessons we learned before, during, and after the main event.

The backstory

It all began on Christmas morning, 2009. The big gift for our kids was a Disney trip we had planned for the next month. Mind you; this gift was from us, not Santa. I never let Santa give the best gifts. Why should he get all the credit for my hard work?

But I digress.

We saved this gift for last so they could appreciate the smaller items. We handed them an envelope once they had unwrapped the presents…

--

--

Riley McLynn

Top Writer in Parenting. Mom, English Major, Executive Search. Passionate about health, fitness, reading, and learning. Family proofreader and editor.