Life as an Engineer: Dream

Cesario Putera
2 min readMar 25, 2017

--

My name is Cesario Siringoringo, an Information Technology Engineer for company. This is my very first writing, I dare my self to write my story about a kid that wants to be a Programmer. Yes, a Programmer, such a weird dream for a junior high school student back in 2007.

Some kids would say “I want to be a Doctor!”, “I want to be a President!” or “I want to be an army!”. Well, not for me, I said “I want to be a programmer”, then people around me asked me what is programmer? What is programmer do? Can a programmer cure people? Can a programmer save a country?. *silent moment* Yes, I couldn’t answer that, unfortunately, I didn’t know what exactly a programmer was. I was just a kid who really fond of technology.

Why technology? This was happened when my dad back from office and brought his laptop.

Me : Is there any games in your laptop ?
Dad : No, but let’s find it

Then he opened his laptop, plugged a telephone cable and introduced me to the best problem solver in the world, yes Google, “We can get anything from Google”, he said. He typed “games”, and BOOM, we could see a list of game titles. Awesome, it was the best experience I have, to see more than a thousand games

After that day, my mother was not allowed me to use internet, because the bill was so expensive . At that time internet was still new thing in Indonesia, so we needed to spend a lot of money to use the internet. For a few weeks I was amazed by Google. “Awesome, Google have everything”, at the first time I thought Google was a repository, that we can find anything there.

After that I asked my teacher, what is Google, then he explained to me

Teacher : “Google is search engine, we can search anything with this
Me : How it works?”
Teacher : “This is called by technology, I don’t know either how it works but it can help you”

Then I changed my thought from “Google is awesome” to “There is so much thing that I can learn, technology is awesome”. Do you guys get what I mean? Lol. I mean, I thought Google is the end of technology, but it is wrong, it is only the beginning, We can create anything by technology.

The questions above answered right! Can a programmer cure people? Can a programmer save a country? Proudly I say “YES” . How? I don’t know either how it will work .

So what is your dream? How did you meet your dream?

To be continued…

Thanks to the best english teacher ever Mr. Achmad Yusuf

--

--

Cesario Putera

Google Certified Android Developer | Android Developer | Architecture Enthusiast