Honor the greats

The ‘Nobel’ is considered widely as the greatest honor on our planet. ‘Bharat Ratna’ is the highest civilian award presented by the republic of India.

A few facts:

i) Rabindranath Tagore who received the Nobel Prize in 1913 was never a recipient of Bharat Ratna.
ii) C.V. Raman was honored with the Nobel Prize in 1930 but was presented with the Bharat Ratna in 1954.
iii) Mother Teresa was given the Nobel Prize in 1979. She received Bharat Ratna in 1980.
iv) Amartya Sen was presented with the Nobel Prize in 1998. He was given Bharat Ratna in 1999.
v) Kailash Satyarthi won the Nobel Prize in 2014. He hasn’t won the Bharat Ratna yet.

The five names mentioned above are legends in their own right and mere adjectives are not enough to describe their achievements. I however fail to understand the reason why could not we honor them before the world recognized their achievements. People like these are gems to humanity. It is too late already. Let’s be prompt in honoring, encouraging and felicitating our gifted greats.

One clap, two clap, three clap, forty?

By clapping more or less, you can signal to us which stories really stand out.