My Lady Jane

Rista Adityaputry
4 min readAug 26, 2017

--

The comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey. In My Lady Jane, coauthors Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows have created a one-of-a-kind fantasy in the tradition of The Princess Bride, featuring a reluctant king, an even more reluctant queen, a noble steed, and only a passing resemblance to actual history—because sometimes history needs a little help.

At sixteen, Lady Jane Grey is about to be married off to a stranger and caught up in a conspiracy to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But those trifling problems aren’t for Jane to worry about. Jane is about to become the Queen of England.

My opinion:

I know I should continue reading Crooked Kingdom but then I saw this book sat nicely on the shelves in my favourite bookstore. Then I remember that this book is one of my TBR books. So, I gave up and bought this. I didn’t regret it one bit.

I used to hate historical fiction, but my views changed after I watched The White Queen in Starz. I amazed by the complicated England royal family, the politics until the love story they had which is rare. Of course, next I watched The White Princess and began reading other common knowledge about the Tudors and Yorks.

When I added My Lady Jane in my TBR list, I just know that this would be funny read and some light romance. History aside, I know I would love this book from bits of conversation that I read in Goodread reviews. Now that I knew a bit of the background history, I became more curious about The Nine Days Queen and bought this book with no hesitation.

Beside history, I rarely read comedy too. Humour is found as an addition in every books I’ve read. So, I don’t think reading humour as a vital point isn’t my forte. Besides, I’m not native and maybe I will find it as dry humour. But My Lady Jane made me think otherwise. This book really offers many type of humours from the beginning until the end. Not just silly humour, but wits and funny sarcasm as well. And I prefer that, really. Also, the simplest humour is funny too (or maybe my humour sense is too low? 😂 I don’t know). Three POV really gave me three different humours and in some serious scenes, the authors (yes, the three authorS) simply put subtle humours as ‘spices’ without dragging the main problems away. You want some humours in romantic scenes? The authors gave us. In thrilling moments? Done. The humours is balanced with all the scenes. I don’t think I ever thought that would be redundant.

The additional fiction (as in the fiction itself, not the history one) in the story feels natural. I can even imagine that the real Jane or real King Edward or even the real Gifford do the fiction parts in the real setting (with a bit hope that it should be happened in real life, oh well). Because I haven’t read any real history about Jane Grey, for some parts I don’t know whether some events are true or not, such as the politic situation, the reason why Edward chose Jane Grey, or the story about Jane and Gifford’s marriage, etc. But let’s just say fiction stays fiction. Also, the history isn’t completely forgotten either and it felt natural when it was combined with the fiction one.

The friendships and the romance are wonderful. Even though this is considered as a light reading, the romance isn’t that light and held some important notes to be noted by all modern couples. I admit I expect something cringe-worthy because you know, romance in medieval age can be a bit too much (either from the words or the scenes). However, the romance we get is sweet like honey (oh, well). Yes, I even can’t stop smiling when reading some scenes about Jane and Gifford. Even romantic scenes from the spoiled sassy Edward is so sweet. I can’t stop giggling (plus, the humours!).

The friendship is perfect, between Edward-Jane and Edward-Elizabeth. They care for each other and nothing political about their relationship. I too feel amazed about the growing relationship between Edward and Gifford that is soooo natural yet so hilarious. Though not so much, we also can see a bit about their relationship with the grandmother, former Queen of England, Elizabeth Tudor (my favourite Queen, to be honest ❤). I think this book is a complete one.

Jane Grey is such a perfect character along with her imperfection. Sometimes a bit clumsy, annoying, and slightly naive, but she also is an independent and clever woman with her passion about books and education. She is strong and brave. It’s such an unfortunate that the real Queen was beheaded shortly just nine (or was it ten?) days after she was announced as a Queen. She didn’t even get a coronation. Though I don’t know how her real personality was, I’d like to think that way (it was stated in Wikipedia, too).

Overall, I give this book a perfect score, 5 out of 5 stars. It’s such a flawless book. If you need a light reading and some humour, this will do. You’re not only get to know bits of England history, but also the early story about two remarkable Queens in England, Mary and Elizabeth I. Although it was supposed to be a hilarious reading, you can get some morals hidden in it.

--

--