“1st Sunny Day in Winter @Moscow, Russia” or “People & Birds”

--

You know what? Not sure is it okay to start story from this question, anyway the sun shone all day (!) yesterday. Why I highlighted so ordinary and natural thing? Because it’s supernatural for Moscow, no one has seen seen sun since the previous season…

Figures below will clear everything up for you:

It wasn’t easy to find graph in days instead of hours, for more cool stats press here

There was a minimal chance to chase the sun, but I did. Thanks to global warming.

And here we go!

I loved birdwatching before it was cool. Let it be kinda of epilog for gorgeous Moscow sunset.

Portrait photographer in action. Literally anybody could become my model.

Moscow river from different shooting points. I was really surprised of that crystal blue color and where it came from. On the left we see nice water color on the left ducks are so saturated. Perfection is somewhere in the middle.

#nofilter

The right bird seems to be very shy to make the first step ;)

Watching how birds are watching sunset

Another cool pics with pigeons.

I couldn’t make a sample smaller

A year ago it was a car road now it’s perfect walking street on the river bank. Moscow is becoming better for pedestrians every year.

Back light is my favorite

People without hats are spoiling my legend about frosty weather.

One day I would learn how to shoot people faces without disturbing them or I’ll buy telephoto lens

I would call it the shot of the day. Some color correction could make it more special. I love that dark frames which accidentally added cinematic effect.

Should him be as it is or would be better if he was aside?

I guess it was the first time when I saw Cathedral of Christ the Saviour in a golden hour.

Hope you haven’t seen it from this angle. This is my mission to surprise you.

Let’s count how many people and birds are on the photograph below?

People vs. Birds 34–30. So close. People won. For now…

Should I upload it to some photo bank site?

It may be appropriate for some news about religion issues

Want to count again?

Now you’d do it yourself. Give your answer in comments so I’ll understand if I need to add any inscriptions further.

The next building was hidden from my eyes till the very moment when I found out that it would be restored and turned into interesting modern center. I was inside and it is something.

The former water-power plant in the center of Moscow. Can’t wait for 2019 to see the renewed space.

In such moments I could forgive factory pipes for the air pollution. But just for a second.

Who recognised Dali’s elephant on the right?

I don’t trying to make some statement here. Just two pictures.

Don’t drink anything over 40%. And they didn’t!

Pipes strike again.

Blur is a decease. Sorry. But most people love it #onblurpose.

Noticed 2nd cinematic effect.

Found some rowan berries at Alexander’s Garden.

Another passion except birds is macro shooting even without appropriate lens

The closer to the city center the more fun. They built this tubing slide and made free admission. But people are paying anyway. By their time in enormous queue…

Couple of hours cost second and a half on the slide. I read it from their faces.

Are you hungry? Met Russian tapas!

Or sangria. Or even both. Still not sure.

Fair is still open. I tried to avoid Red Square this time so this is Revolution Square.

Bokeh amount became too damn high.

Could you see me in the reflections?

The Central Shopping mall is still waiting people to earn new money after Christmas shopping.

Always loved Tiffany&Co commercials. Don’t understand how it hasn’t beed accused in sexism yet. As on another shopwindow you’ll see housewife… Now I regret that I didn’t shoot it to give you the whole picture.

Looking at this I could only say: “Cheers!”

Last sunset moments

Another pleasant surprise that brand new Zaryadye Park looks awesome in winter comparing with the opening day in September, 2017.

BTW you could buy a flat and live in this building

One doesn’t simply not to make a selfie here.

Backlight culmination

I know that it’s the 3rd picture of this building but it’s the last one. So I won.

If you didn’t notice frozen pond I’m bad photographer.

Thanks for scrolling till the end or being with me. I hope you enjoyed this Moscow walk. Sorry for tons of sarcasm I dunno where did it came from.

Here is the route:

--

--

Rita May. Photographer from Moscow, Russia

Writing in both Russian and English about my work, city events and stuff. Portfolio and regular content are on Instagram: @ritamay.photo.