My Favorite PS2 Game — The Incredible Hulk: Ultimate Destruction

Rithvik Raja
3 min readJul 23, 2020

A 15 year-old-game, but still a masterpiece

The first video game console I ever played on was the PlayStation 2. I played a variety of games such as ATV Offroad Fury, Finding Nemo, and CoD: Finest Hour. The one that stood out to me the most was The Incredible Hulk: Ultimate Destruction. Not only was this my first action-adventure game, but it was also my first open-world game. I never really cared about the story; I spent most of my time smashing helicopters and jumping around through the city.

I didn’t play the game when it first released, but approximately five years later in 2010. It still was one of the best games at the time due to its mechanics, graphics, and fighting system. The graphics were way ahead of its time, so I didn’t feel like playing a five-year-old game in 2010. On my PS2, I never had a storage card, so I started from the beginning of the game every time playing it. This, surprisingly, never bored me of the game. I eventually completed the game by not turning off the console after playing the game for two years.

With a variety of in-game collectibles and missions, there was always something to do. As Hulk, you could pick up many different objects within the environment ranging from street lamps to police helicopters. Instead of standard punches and kicks, the game lets you throw items for hundreds of meters. You could have used a street lamp as a baseball bat for combat. There were time-based quests similar to the ones in the Just Cause series, where you would be awarded a bronze, silver, or gold award for accomplishing a task in the time.

The game released on the PlayStation 2, Xbox, and the GameCube. Being one the of best superhero games ever made, I think that it deserves a remaster with up to date graphics and improved combat. It is possible to be played on PC or mobile devices use a ROM, but a full remaster for console and an actual PC port would be good for the developers, Radical Entertainment, and fans of the green beast.

Most superhero games are either great or poorly made. The Incredible Hulk: Ultimate Destruction was already great, so there is no doubt that it will sell well and get great recognition within the gaming community. Thanks for reading! If you have played this “incredible” game, please share your thoughts in the reply section.

--

--

Rithvik Raja

Interested in gaming, technology, and science. I primarily write about video games.