CS 371p Spring 2023: Ritesh Thakur

Ritesh Thakur
2 min readMar 25, 2023
  • What did you do this past week?

For OOP, my partner and I worked on a lot of the project together and then decided to call it a day because we were pretty burnt out. We had fun discussing different ways to implement the objects, and these constraints only made the problem more interesting. Also, I finally started studying for the class quizzes because I realized my memory is very, very weak.

  • What’s in your way?

Definitely my sleep schedule, but, even though I say this every week, I’m working on it. I started to fix my schedule of waking up at *hopefully* 8am everyday, but we’ll see how long that can last. I actually did wake up at 8am most days this week… so we’ll see how it pays off in the long run.

  • What will you do next week?

Finish Darwin project and hopefully ace all the quizzes. I’d also love to try reading this object-oriented pdf I found online, but it’s pretty long so I’ll have to start sometime when I have time.

  • What did you think of Paper #10. Why getter and setter methods are evil?

The paper was interesting in the sense that it talked a lot about object-oriented design. I’m not too sure how I can apply it more than I already have, because to me it seems as if it has been implicitly applying itself when we program. The JavaBeans explanation was kind of funny in my opinion.

  • What was your experience of explicit, friend, and std::vector? (this question will vary, week to week)

There are so, so many keywords in C++ that I never thought could even be a keyword. The explanations in class were ok, but they really started to make sense to me in the projects and exercises. Also, std::vector (and our my_vector implementation) is definitely something that will bug me in my mind every time I used vector now that I kind of know how it not-the-best works under the hood.

  • What made you happy this week?

Seeing my friends after Spring Break, eating some ice cream, and keeping track of my sleep schedule. It gets hard to do a lot at once.

  • What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

There is a YouTuber who’s (kind of) funny called Joma Tech. He makes tech videos and keeps up with the latest developments of tech and talks about them in a monotonous and sarcastic way that kind of represents how the tech world behaves, but he is informational and I think he has some cool opinions.

--

--