Frontline Series: A Conversation with Artist Eloa Anmari

Riverside Mutual Aid Network
2 min readAug 9, 2020

--

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I am Eloa Hodges, she/her. I’ve lived in Riverside, CA my whole life. Art has always been one of my passions but now I’m starting to invest my heart and soul into it, because that’s what makes me feel most at peace. I hope people can feel the love I put into my goods. Love yourself and you are loved!”

What inspired you to become an artist?

Because my mother was an artist, I always had an interest in art growing up. When I moved out of my childhood home, I finally had more time on my hands and my boyfriend encouraged me to pursue my passion. With the lockdown occurring, I was able to dedicate more time to developing my art and got more invested in it.

What inspired you to create this mural?

I wanted something that represented my African roots, as well as black women in general. I love blending my love for painting black women and Afrocentric features with my love for painting nature, gardens, flowers, etc. Black women are often misrepresented in the media, so I really wanted to make something that would represent the black woman’s growth and the beauty in that growth.

How have you been involved with the recent national movement for justice?

In a variety of different ways actually, my activism hasn’t been limited solely to my artwork. I attended a few protests in the city of Riverside and continue to use my social media platform to spread awareness to the communities that I’m a part of. I painted 2 murals in Downtown Riverside as part of a group of artists that decorated the boarded-up businesses. I also donate a portion of my earnings from my art endeavors towards causes like Black Lives Matter and LGBTQ+ organizations.

What role do you think art and creative work plays in the movement for black lives?

Many of the artists and creatives here in Riverside have had experiences as POC that can be expressed through their art/creative work. The more exposure that that art receives, the more that the needs and demands of marginalized communities can be represented in the City decision-making process.

Do you feel the City has done enough to uplift artists and creatives’ voices during this time?

With the amount of amazing and meaningful art that has come out of this movement, I think we need to band together as fellow citizens and artists and organize a way to get our voices heard. Artists need to be given the representation and exposure that we deserve here in Riverside.

For more of Eloa’s work and updates from her creative endeavors, feel free to check her out here:

Instagram: eloa.anmari

Depop: eloaanmari

--

--

Riverside Mutual Aid Network
0 Followers

We are a network of UCR alumni/students, workers, neighbors & community members organizing mutual aid responses in the Riverside community.