Crazy things I did to learn a language!

Riya
4 min readFeb 22, 2024

--

Back in 2018, when I started learning Korean language, it was all just dramas, songs and podcasts for me because I wasn’t that serious with it. However, after some time when I started learning Korean alphabets through duolingo I just couldn’t stop. I reached 340 days streak and it was amazing and fun! But this was not being crazy yet.

Photo by Tengyart on Unsplash

After some time, while I was still learning Korean through Duolingo and was too much into Korean dramas, I was aware that I was learning something but was not sure if I actually remember anything or actually understand the language because after some time everthing seemed to easy on Duolingo as well, so to test myself and practice my Korean, I turned my whole cell phone’s setting in Korean language! Now this was the first crazy thing that I did to improve my Korean. Forgetting the fact that I was STILL learning, I turned all the settings, all the options in Korean language and since I couldn’t understand everything yet, I had to use my sister’s phone to translate and figure out what was what and how to switch the language to English again! Now, I know this might sound stupid to someone who is good with tech and electronics but I’m not that good, okay! So, just understand it. But, but the main thing was I learned how to go to and fro from Korean to English for the phone settings and yes! it was a great expericence. I got to learn new words, new phrases and became too fast in using Korean keyboard. And through this, not only I learned new words and cellphone’s Korean version but I also got to improve my typing with Korean letters on English keyboard! I have never heard anyone doing this so I think it was crazy and risky but it was the best decision I made in my language learning journey.

Another thing because of which everyone around me actually considered me crazy was to talk in Korean all the time, for all the things and to everyone and anyone!
Now, now..I know this is very obvious and common thing to do for a language learner but my level was different.
I was so much into Korean that I almost forgot my mother tongue and it still happens! I used to repeat whatever I used to hear from dramas, songs, TV programmes in Korean language and then to remember that I used it more often, not caring about if other person is understanding it or not I just went my way and nobody could stop me from that! In the beginning, it was just somee cracked up Korean that I used to speak but after some 3–4 months, my Korean accent became more natural and I was more confident than ever! Also, I came to realize after some time that I was not the only person who gained something from this 4 month long speaking challange, my sister also began to undertand what I used to say and she also learned to express herself in Korean!
P.s. Sometime I feel suspecious if she was learning Korean without me becasue she learned really fast without any sources but me and the dramas! But I’m really happy and lucky to have a study partner like her!

Last but not the least is to translate short Korean stories in English language. Again, I’m not sure if anyone has done this either but it was all out of curiosity for me! I always enjoyed reading story books and writing as well, so while I was working as an assistant in an office, whenever I used to get some free time, I started translating Korean books to English language which was very very and still very rare to find on the internet. I think it was a crazy idea because it was too early to take up a translation project for a beginner but since I never learned according to a plan, I think I enjoyed it. This thing again was surprisingly beneficial for me because I got to practice my Korean language skills, I learned translation skills, learned new words and also practiced my typing — I was still typing Korean with English keyboard only without any other help.

The things mentioned above are my personal experiences and exercises that I think are crazy but are beneficial to the same amount to me. So even if they feel ordinary to you it was very out of the blue kind of experience for me as it was all me and I never searched internet to the ways to learn a language but now, ofcourse, I want to help people who are learning a language by doing these things if they can or want to! For me, it was very helpful and I hope the same for others as well!

So, what are your know how’s or Crazy things which you learned something through! Let me know in the comments!

Thank you for reading!
Love,
R.

--

--

Riya

Hey there!👋I'm Riya. I love learning new languages because I don't want to miss out on good stuff in this world.