Week #1 | Adapt to Change

Riyatkal
5 min readJun 9, 2024

--

What if I told you that I traveled alone to a foreign country at just the age of 17?

Before I tell you the story of my journey so far, I would like to express my deepest gratitude to the World Food Prize Foundation and specifically, Dr. Norman Borlaug and Dr. John Ruan. Their vision and dedication to combating global food insecurity have inspired countless individuals and provided me with this incredible international opportunity. It is because of their legacy that I can venture into the heart of Hyderabad, ready to learn, grow, and make a meaningful impact on the subject of sustainable agriculture. Coming from a small town in Wisconsin, I never would have imagined having the opportunity to study a subject I am truly passionate about in a foreign country. It’s truly astounding. With that said, let’s begin this adventure…

First and foremost, I have been to India many times for family occasions or to simply visit extended family in the North (Gujurat) and South (Kerala) regions. My family has always been with me everywhere I traveled. But this time it's different. Junior year is over and the next day I am on the first flight to Abu Dhabi. Crazy, right? After spending 18 hours on Eithiad Airways, I felt a rush of warm air as I stepped off the flight, letting me know I’d arrived in Hyderabad. It was so dark outside of the airport that I could just jump to the conclusion that it would be three in the morning. But it wasn’t, haha!

Arriving at the International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT) campus at 10:30 PM, I was greeted by warm, sticky air, viewing the fields in the dark. As I squint in the distance, I see the roaring streets of Hyderabad; the cars, autorickshaws, and motorcycles bustle through the streets. As I wheel my suitcases — one screaming red like a fire truck and the other a wild mix of purple and green, I look at my new apartment flat. This is going to be a change. A good one.

The landscape at ICRISAT is stunning! My partner, Zara, and I explored a little before heading to our internship sites (June 5). Look at all of those marigolds ❤

As a girl coming from Wisconsin, surrounded by tons of cows and cornfields, Hyderabad was a real change. I went from a rural girl to a city girl at that moment! As I found myself wandering around ICRISAT the next morning, navigating the unfamiliar surroundings in search of the World Vegetable Center, I finally laid eyes on the tan and clay-colored building with the bright logo. I slowly began to adapt to the change at my new workplace, ready for a new challenge.

Senior officer Rehana Shaik introduced me to the staff and my mentor for my research project, Dr. Ramakrishnan M. Nair. Under the guidance of Dr. Nair, Director of the International Mungbean Improvement Network (IMIN), I will be conducting research on the impact of waterlogging on nitrogen fixation in Mungbean (Vigna radiata) and Urdbean (Vigna mungo). Science is always changing. We see different discoveries every day in genetics, environmental science, and sustainable agriculture, each contributing to a better understanding of our world. The dynamic field of legume research, in particular, is constantly evolving. The end goal is to combat hunger. I believe that with this research I conduct, I will be able to push my boundaries and fight this global health issue.

I look up and see some of the most inspiring and colorful posters on the walls. A green poster with a woman holding soybeans on her head and holding plants happily. Vegetable Soybean: An alternative paradigm for the world’s main legume.

You might be wondering, “What exactly is a legume?” In India, legumes play a significant role as a staple food source and are found in many products such as chickpeas and peanuts. Mungbean (green gram) and urdbean (black gram) are two specific legumes that I will be conducting research on for this summer. The WorldVeg Center conducts advanced research in the agriculture field, amplifying vegetable production to a global scale. I am beyond grateful to be matched with this site and it would not have worked out more perfectly.

Greenhouse 1-Bay 5: My greenhouse holds 100 hundred pots of mungbean and urdbean plants for the waterlogging experiment. This was Day 1 of watering the plants, just outside of the WorldVeg Center.

On that first day, I also immersed myself in numerous research articles that Dr. Nair had previously worked on and it was truly fascinating to me different vegetables’ potential on the agriculture scale. Dr. Nair’s study on mungbean illustrates its importance as a staple food and cash crop in tropical regions. Today, the climate in various semi-arid parts of the world such as India can have a heavy impact on crops which can damage their genetic and biological abilities. This was just the first day and I was already captivated by the research Dr. Nair had conducted!

As I stepped out of the World Vegetable Center, I knew that I would embark on an unforgettable internship. One thing that I truly appreciate about ICRISAT, is that the staff are welcoming to everyone no matter where anyone is from. A lot of the staff make sure that the interns get everything they need to be comfortable. Dr. Nair also mentioned, “Take it easy.” I think it is essential for foreigners to get the proper rest they need especially coming from another country, as adjusting to the time zones can be an obstacle and I think that Dr. Nair did what was best for me this week. Adapt to the change, slowly.

At ICRISAT, there are unique quotes from a diverse group of individuals praising environmental research around the campus. It makes ICRISAT more inclusive and memorable.

What also caught my attention at ICRISAT was its rich history spanning over fifty years. The campus has benefited from the contributions of several donors and has hosted significant individuals, such as Dr. M.S. Swaminathan and Prime Minister Narendra Modi. These quotes around the campus serve to inspire countless individuals such as myself to push through research and break barriers in the agricultural field.

As most of you reading this aren’t with me on this journey, I am beyond honored to post weekly blogs on my experience as a 2024 Borlaug-Ruan Intern at the WorldVeg Center. The first week was truly refreshing and I cannot wait for the cultural experiences that come in the near future. I would also take the time and thank Ms. Renee Cooper and Ms. Rebecca Picard for making this dream become a reality. For everyone else, stay tuned for an eventful two months.

R. Kalluvila

--

--