Week 5 | Experiments, Homemade Food & Royal History

Riyatkal
5 min readJul 7, 2024

--

I started the week by devoting all of my attention to my waterlogging project. I took great care to measure and water the plants in the control group so that they received the exact amount each day. Initially, the experimental waterlogging plants did not exhibit any symptoms because Hyderabad’s climate is suitable (monsoon season) for mungbean and urdbean. This resistance was further improved by an extended period of not being in sunlight, which is not ideal for this experiment but helps the plants resist too much water. Eventually, the plants slowly began to exhibit symptoms, which is positive for the purposes of the experiment. Some waterlogging symptoms would include yellowing of leaves, wilting, and stunted growth. These collectively put stress on mungbean and urdbean plants, which is how their productivity declines. On the other hand, I particularly enjoy watering the plants in the glasshouse because it provides a serene environment, and observing the plants’ progress up close is rewarding.

During the monsoon season from June to August in Telangana, the waterlogged plants were not significantly affected. In this photo, I am measuring water for the control plants which requires a calculated amount.
The waterlogged plants are growing well due to the favorable weather conditions. They are showing some resilience (moss growth) because of the excess water.

Later in the week, I ventured out to the fields to witness my intern friend Ankita’s harvesting process. Her experiment was more extensive and required a lot more precision because she is doing her PhD in ICRISAT. It was eye-opening to see the real-world application of agricultural practices because since my experiment is primarily in the glasshouse, I don’t usually have the opportunity to work in the fields. I hypothesize that if I were to conduct my waterlogging experiment in the ICRISAT fields, the effects of waterlogging would appear more quickly due to the uncontrolled external environment compared to a controlled one. I got to talk to the field workers and they gave me an explanation of their responsibilities during the harvesting process. Most of the field workers wore hats and masks for protection during their work in the fields. At the time, I did not wear a hat and it was a hot day since we were hitting 1 pm, so I felt the heat beating on my back. It is funny since when I need my hat the most, I never have it, haha! But, I did have sunglasses, so it’s okay!

This is what the fields would look like and it would be rows and rows of different millet crops that needed to be harvested.

One of the best experiences of this week was visiting one of my mentor’s homes, Niraja Ma’am’s, for a homemade dinner. It was heartwarming to meet her daughters, Laharika and Rishika, who are around my age. We bonded over shared interests and had a great time learning about each other’s school lives and hobbies. Niraja Ma’am prepared an amazing chicken biryani, and homemade custard with sliced mangoes, bananas, and almonds. The taste of the biriyani was delicious and I could not stop eating it!! The custard was literally my favorite dish of the entire day! I can never say no to homemade food since it is the best food ever! It was the combination of great food and warm hospitality made for an evening to remember. Niraja Ma’am also mentioned that she recently got solar panels installed on her roof, and Laharika decided to show me. I was so excited! As we walked up the stairs, I saw an electrifying blue sky that hinted at a rolling storm. It was a beautiful azure blue that took over the sky, and it was drizzling. The solar panels were gigantic and looked amazing on top of the roof. I really loved the feeling up there, seeing the neighboring houses and the city!

The electrifying blue sky and the solar panels made the rooftop visit an exhilarating experience :)
Starting from the left: Laharika, Rishika, (me), Niraja Ma’am

To end off the fifth week, Zara and I had the opportunity to go to Taj Falaknuma Palace, another magnificent jewel also found in Hyderabad. We had the opportunity to have lunch there and explore the palace’s rich history. The Falaknuma Palace, built in 1893, was later acquired by the 6th Nizam of Hyderabad, Mir Mahbub Ali Khan, who was known as the richest man in the world during his time. Later on, he was featured in TIME (1937) magazine for the “Richest Man in the World” official title. The Falaknuma Palace itself was jaw-dropping, not just because of its grand exterior but also due to the precise level of detail found in each room inside. We also found ourselves in the “World’s Largest Dining Room,” staring at the 108-foot-long dining table constructed from a single piece of wood. What I found really fascinating was the amount of British connections at Falaknuma Palace. It’s known that King George V and Queen Mary were hosted here during their visit to India which displays Falaknuma as a symbol of a royal guesthouse. I am beyond grateful for visiting Taj Falaknuma, as it provided a serene environment where Zara and I could immerse ourselves in the Royal Nizam history.

Taj Falaknuma
“World’s Largest Dining Table”
One of the starters in our lunch was a plum sorbet! It was delicious!
First edition of The Loss of the Titanic
Zara and I on our way back after a lovely experience at Falaknuma!
From the marble architecture to the Nizam history, Taj Falaknuma was an incredible experience! This is one of my favorite photos as it encapsulates the atmosphere of the main hall!

I definitely have to say I learned a lot this week. I have got to say that having dinner at Niraja Ma’am’s home was one of the best experiences of this week. Making new connections and learning from different households is so surreal to me. Oh, and I also got more mangoes this week! Not going to lie, ICRISAT also sells banana bread and I am for sure addicted to it, I finished an entire 16-piece loaf this week, haha! It was so good!! This week has been nothing but action-packed and I cannot wait to complete my experiment this next coming week. Cheers to the fifth week!

R. Kalluvila

--

--