Weeks 3 + 4 | [Bittersweet}

Riyatkal
3 min readJun 29, 2024

--

Experimentation for any kind of science experiment takes a lot of time and patience. So far, the number one lesson I learned when conducting my waterlogging experiment on legumes is that patience is key to successful experimentation. Throughout the building of my experiment, I remained as patient as I could! This involved meticulous planning and setting up all necessary materials to ensure that the glasshouse experiment would run smoothly. However, just as I was gearing up to start the 10-day waterlogging experiment, I fell ill, along with my partner Zara, towards the end of the week. This illness lingered into the beginning of the fourth week, causing a minor setback in my experiment. However, I did get assistance from another mentor from the WorldVeg Center which was truly a gift!

After I got back to the office, I was surprised by a coconut lying on my desk whiteboard. Woah! A coconut? Here? I was so excited I cracked it open and drank the entire coconut. The taste was so good that it felt like my sickness had just vanished. I had so many fruits post-sickness like mangoes, pomegranates, guavas, and green grapes!

Sweaty from watering the plants, I drank that coconut and the taste was unbelievable!!! Even my nail polish matches the coconut!

Despite the illness that interrupted my experiment, I slowly recovered and began my 10-day experiment starting on day three. Waterlogging required to overwater some of the plants and I am pleased with the results so far as my experiment is going well! However, on day five I experienced a surprising moment when I encountered the first dead plant of the experiment: Plant 116. Watching it wither away was a reminder of the delicate balance required for plant health, especially under stress conditions like waterlogging. Plant 116’s death showed me how severe waterlogging can be, suffocating the roots and experiencing hypoxia (loss of oxygen).

Plant #116: As you can see, this plant has suffered significantly, with its leaves wilted and lifeless due to the effects of waterlogging.

Amidst the scientific rigor, I ventured out to Anjaiah Nagar in the city with two fellow interns, Drisya and Prathiba, to try some authentic Hyderabadi food. The food in Hyderabad has been nothing but delicious so far. From the piping hot biriyani to chicken tandoori, the food here hasn’t disappointed! We visited Nawaab’s, a renowned biryani restaurant that came highly recommended. As I stepped into Nawaab’s, I was immediately struck by the lively atmosphere. It was 9:02 pm and there were so many people; I realized that Hyderabad is an Indian city that never sleeps! I started with tandoori chicken and another chicken starter, both perfectly spiced and cooked to perfection. For the main course, I had butter chicken with garlic naan. The flavors were so incredibly rich and nuanced that it surpassed any Indian cuisine I’ve been to in the US.

Just look at the vibrant colors of the dishes!

The meal ended on a sweet note with a serving of chocolate ice cream in a royal Indian dish. The ice cream was top-notch, melting in my mouth and providing a delightful contrast to the spicy and savory dishes that preceded it. The entire dining experience at Nawaab’s was unforgettable, and I am already looking forward to my next visit. So, if you ever travel to Hyderabad, Nawaab’s is a must-visit and experience!

Stunning, right?

The last few weeks have truly been bittersweet. With the minor sickness and recovering from that to enjoying delicious food from Nawaab’s, I’ve experienced a mix of challenges and joys. The progress on the waterlogging experiment has been promising, and I’ve gained a lot of different skills from the start of the experiment. I’m looking forward to seeing the final results of my experiment and more memorable experiences ahead!

R.Kalluvila

--

--