The Power of Teamwork

Muhammad Rizwan
3 min readAug 31, 2019

--

A Lesson from Amal Fellowship

“Alone we can do so little; together we can do so much.” - Helen Keller

Amal Academy is an educational startup funded by Acumen and Stanford university which helps Pakistani youth build bridges to their dreams.

Amal Academy

During the Amal fellowship, I learned that “teamwork” is the key point to do massive work in a short period. For a single person, it can be difficult and stressful but a bunch of people can get this work done easily and smartly. I learned many things while working with my Amal circle. Every circle member put their interest, effort, time and skills to achieve our goal.

“Coming together is a beginning, staying together is progress, and working together is success.” - Henry Ford

Different ideas and methods come together in teamwork. if one idea fails or collapse then the idea can be replaced by another idea. In teams, the work is divided and can be done conveniently. Sometimes people lost motivation, hope, interest then team members can jump to motivate their companions. If a single person starts doing massive work. That person can get stuck somewhere, lost hope and get distracted but a team can overcome this situation easily.

Teamwork is the key to success. There are some phases in teamwork. For example: goals, visions, diversity, leadership, collaboration and creativity. The whole team works towards a Goal. Goals can be achieved when the whole team works together as a unit. In a team, people have different mindsets but everyone focuses their minds and efforts towards the vision. Teams always have a diverse environment. In a team of people of different ages, nationalities, religious backgrounds, functional backgrounds, skills, gender works together. Sometimes a single person leads the team and sometimes there is no leader but one has to lead to show the right way to the team. A team requires a combination of interpersonal, problem solving, and communication skills to achieve the goals. Every member of the team needs to be creative while working together.

“There is immense power when a group of people with similar interests gets together to work toward the same goals.” - Idowu Koyenikan

Whenever I get a chance to work in a team, I will be putting my real efforts to achieve the goals. I’ll follow my team leader and instruction. I can also lead the team without authority, I can take responsibility for my work and I will be helping my team members. Motivation is necessary for teamwork, I will stay motivated and I’ll motivate my team members also. There are many things to learn, I will learn from my team. I will share my knowledge, skills and abilities with others. Everyone has a different perspective and values; I will ensure that I respect everyone. I will work hard and I will put all my efforts into teamwork.

“It is the long history of humankind (and animal kind, too) that those who learned to collaborate and improvise most effectively have prevailed.” - Charles Darwin

--

--

Muhammad Rizwan

Respond to every call that excites YOUR spirit ! 🙏🏼⚡️ - Jalaluddin Rumi