The foobar effect

Raj Geriya
1 min readAug 14, 2016

--

Couple of months back one of the interns at our company was working on a natural language processing project with Java, while searching for some syntax he suddenly he gets this weird page called foobar. When we looked it up we found that it was a secret process for Google to hire programmers now as much as awesome it sounds it is a huge invasion of privacy ( i know its based on each ones perspective) and it affects your mind too (atleast it did to me), I’m a young developer i always wanted to work for awesome companies or startups where i can learn more and more.

Foobar has made me conscious and worried about what i search.

I’ve had heard about it previously, but it didn’t have that big of an impact on me. But after actually seeing someone experience it. It made me conscious about what i searched on Google, every time i search something trivial, i feel like Google is judging me and I’ll never have that freedom to search anything (even though I’ve turned off search history too).

It feels like big brother tech edition

--

--

Raj Geriya

Thinker, explorer, computer geek,foodie and music lover. silently curious. i ask a lot of questions.