Reflections: The Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam

Rafael Jacinto
3 min readSep 12, 2021

“You know how little while we have to stay,

And, once departed, may return no more.”

- The Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam, Stanza 3

I always had a hard time reading through a dense text, especially when it is fused with deep and often archaic words. That is why at first, I never really got what The Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam meant after reading it. It took many hours of thinking but after getting a glimpse of what the author is trying to imply, I felt the want to incorporate at least a part of it into my life.

Much of the work can be summed up with the words “carpe diem” or seize the day. It means that we should enjoy the life given to us while it is still ours. The journey that we have now is limited and passing with not much room for regrets. Although ultimately, we will die and turn to dust, the life that we are currently living is here and is open to many opportunities. So, why not seize our days and live life fully?

Ah, make the most of what we yet may spend,

Before we too into the Dust descend;

Dust into Dust, and under Dust to lie,

Sans Wine, sans Song, sans Singer and — sans End!

- The Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam, Stanza 24

When I now think upon it, I never really felt like I lived my life like that. There are moments when I realize that much of the life I lived is gray and blurry. There isn’t really much that sticks out of my head when I think of any memorable things that I have done within the past years. Even in small things, I often give less effort in doing tasks that I know I could put more effort into. It is quite a contrast to what the author is trying to point out. Perhaps, incorporating carpe diem may add a splash of color to my gray-looking life.

The poem also has elements that are hedonistic or that which favors the idea of pleasure and not pain. Its message of carpe diem comes with indulging the pleasurable moments that we have and will have in life. But, I got conflicted with such a pursuit as pleasure and pain are quite subjective. What one may find pleasurable may cause pain to another which is quite a selfish act for me. If one’s pursuit of pleasure comes at the price of one’s pain, is it even worth it to embark? I think that in such a pursuit, one must find the middle ground between indulging in one’s pleasure and not causing pain to others as a consequence of such pleasures. That way, our relationship with others is maintained while still upholding what we find to be the way to live life.

The Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam is a good read especially for those caught up with life, not living in the present and indulging in what makes them happy. It reinforces the idea of carpe diem which for me is essential to keep in mind in today’s day and age. However, instilling such a philosophy also pushes a reminder for us to be mindful of the consequence that may be caused by our actions especially when it causes pain to others.

--

--

Rafael Jacinto
0 Followers

medical technology student, 18, leo