Imagine-by John Lennon

Ravindra Kumar Karnani
2 min readOct 9, 2023

Today, 9th October is John Lennon’s birthday. He was the founder of the Rock Band “The Beatles”!
Full name John Winston Ono Lennon was an English singer, songwriter, musician and peace activist who gained worldwide fame. He was a songwriter, co-lead vocalist and rhythm guitarist of the Beatles. His work included music, writing, drawings, and film.
I never had any interest in English Songs, mainly because I could never understand the lyrics unless the same were in sub-titles on screen or a printed/written copy in my hands. Yes, I did love the music, rhythm and beats of some songs.
You might wonder then why am I writing about John Lennon? Well, I loved the lyrics of one of his songs : IMAGINE and I tried my hand at translating them into Hindi, my mother tongue.
Before I share below the original song “Imagine” and it’s translation in Hindi as done by me here are a few interesting details about this song:

1. The song "Imagine" by John Lennon is a classic example of a song that has stood the test of time. It was released in 1971, and has since been covered by many artists in movies and TV shows. The song is about peace and love, and has a very positive message.

2. The background story of the song's creation is interesting. John Lennon was inspired to write the song after reading a book called "The Primal Scream" by Arthur Janov. The book is about how humans are born with a primal scream, and that this scream is the source of all human emotions. Lennon was moved by this book, and decided to write a song that would reflect the book's message.

3. Lennon's thoughts on the song's meaning are also very interesting. He said,"The song is about "giving peace a chance", and that it is a call for people to imagine a world without war or violence". He also said that the song is about love, and that it is a call for people to love one another.

The song's place in popular culture is very significant. It is truly an iconic song and is loved by people all over the world.

John Lennon Imagine
Imagine by Lennon,Hindi Translation

--

--

Ravindra Kumar Karnani

I am 72+ retired residing in Kolkata India. I write for pleasure. I have a flair for writing, both in Hindi and English. Writing poetry is my passion.