Shortcuts keys /Cheat sheet for iTerm in mac

--

This document is more related to the users who use iTerm in their day to day work and switching to different feature of iTerm using mouse slow them down. Provided shortcut keys in this article will help you speeding up your work.

  • Open a new tab: ⌘ + t | command + t
  • Remove current tab: ⌘ + w | command + w
  • Split tab vertically: ⌘ + d | command + d
  • Split tab horizontally: ⌘ + shift + d | command + shift + d
  • Write on all the tabs at once: ⌘ + shift + I | command + shift + I
  • Switch between two tabs: ^ + tab | control + tab
  • Switch to previous switched tab: ^ + shift + tab | control + shift + tab
  • Go to specific tab directly: ⌘ + number_key | command + number_key(number_key is number on which tab you want to go ex: ⌘ + 2 it will take you to second tab)
  • Switch between splitted terminals: ⌘ + option + Arrow_keys | command + option + Arrow_keys
  • Switch to next tab: ⌘ + Right_arrow_key | command + Right_arrow_key
  • Switch to previous tab: ⌘ + Left_arrow_key | command + Left_arrow_key
  • Switch between splitted terminals in order: ⌘ + ] and ⌘ + [ | command + ] command + ]

I hope this cheat keys will help you while working with iTerm. I will be adding more as I find more useful for iTerm.
If this helped you or you like this, please give clap/s for me, it really motivates me to write more useful things.
If you have anything in your mind and want me to write about that then also you can suggest me. My LinkedIn profile in the bio, you can connect with me from there.
Thank you very much for reading this.

--

--

Sachin Sharma | Senior DevOps Engineer & Lead

AWS | GCP | Kubernetes | IaC | Terraform | CI/CD | Docker | Security | Python | Automation | DevOps www.linkedin.com/in/rksachin5