What I Learnt From a Live ‘Write With Me’ Stream on YouTube

Or how to write like Zulie Rane

Rebecca LeBard
6 min readNov 26, 2020
Photo by NordWood Themes on Unsplash

The silence bothers me when working from home.

Accustomed to an office environment, I often need background noise to focus sometime. Some people use cafe noise playlists. I play chatty YouTube videos. Nothing too impactful that it will distract me, and preferably at least as long as a Pomodoro session.

Recently I discovered ‘study with me’ videos where a YouTuber discusses their goals for a session before simply studying. But most of these are too quiet with only the occasional tapping of keys, turning of pages and sighs.

Most recently, I played one of Zulie Rane’s ‘write with me’ videos. And it was perfect. Zulie is a popular writer on Medium and each Sunday she live streams while writing an article and answering viewer questions.

Writing with Zulie had me finishing my work tasks well before her video finished, and I gained many useful tips for my Medium writing along the way that I even went back to watch.

I’ve since found following Zulie’s methodology useful when writing subsequent stories as it reduces my decision fatigue when working through the steps from start to submission.

--

--

Rebecca LeBard

I am a Scientist BSc (hons) PhD and Educator MEd (higher education) | I write about higher education, science, science education and balancing life.