Spilling the Ph-Tea: 8 Things Nobody Told Me About Completing a Thesis

(and Some Bullsh*t I Wish They Hadn’t)

Rachel Palmąka Mace
15 min readJun 6, 2023
Photo by Siora Photography on Unsplash

Completing a PhD is tough, we get it. I suffered a mental breakdown two-thirds of the way through mine. I also hit many of the roadblocks students complain about again and again: writer’s block, procrastination, lack of funding, isolation, unsupportive peers or supervisor(s), imposter syndrome, failed research… I could go on but the list would be a PhD thesis itself.

Yet could the process be made less painful with some inside info?

In this article, I outline 8 things I wish I’d known prior to beginning my PhD in the hope they might help anyone who is either considering completing one or anyone currently going through the process.

If you are supporting someone as they write their thesis, this might also help you to help them (you also need a medal — just ask my husband).*

* I asked him on your behalf and he said he still loves me, even though I was a wreck for a while.

The Early Stages

1. Select your supervisor like you would a tradesperson.

Has your boiler ever broken down and you’ve called a tradesperson who looks legit, only to find they do a half-hearted job, disappear after ten minutes, and charge you an arm and a leg for the privilege?

“But their website looked professional and they had all the necessary qualifications,” you say. See where I’m going with this?

Of course, selecting a PhD supervisor takes much more time and planning than finding someone to fix an appliance, yet there are things we can learn from this analogy.

Here are some key questions I recommend you ask yourself:

  • Have I gained word-of-mouth knowledge about what my potential supervisor is like to work with?

If possible, you should speak to students and/or early career researchers who are currently working with them (or who have already completed their thesis under their guidance). This will give you a good idea about what they’re really like to work with.

  • Will their personality and/or approach to work complement mine?

Go see them speak at conferences or attend events you know they’ll be at; you’ll see them interact with other academics, helping you decide if they are the right fit for you (yes, this matters because you’re going to be interacting with them A LOT).

You could also find out if they’re collaborating with any past students, which will tell you if people are still eager to work with them beyond the confines of their doctorate.

To avoid future regrets, consider some of these further questions before approaching a potential supervisor:

  • Do they seem enthusiastic about my project?

If not, do what Iron Maiden says and “Run for the Hills!”

  • Have they got any plans to take a sabbatical or paid leave?

They may not know in the early stages but certainly, if they are planning some major time-out in the near future, you need to know about it (this will be less of an issue if you have more than one supervisor).

  • Will they help me to network?

If you wish to have a career in academia and/or the field you are studying, this aspect cannot be understated.

  • Do they have joint papers with any past students (where they didn’t take most of the credit for doing minimal work)?

How they collaborate with others is a good litmus test for how they will work with you.

  • What do I need from their supervision?

Considering your study needs will hopefully guide you to the person who can become a life-long mentor.

2. Part of completing a PhD is learning how to complete a PhD

Photo Credit: @towfiqu999999

“But I've already successfully completed a bachelor’s degree, master's degree, second bachelor’s degree, a year in industry, an associate lecturer post… I think I’ve got this.”

While it’s true you’ll be bringing a wealth of experience to the PhD table, you’ve never completed a doctorate before (unless you’re getting a second PhD; in which case, my mortar board hat goes off to you).

This is why it’s important to figure out early on what’s expected of you and how the process will look. For this reason, I recommend the following suggestions:

  • Purchase a book, read a blog, listen to a podcast, or watch tutorials about the PhD journey.

I personally bought James Hayton’s book PhD: An Uncommon Guide to Research, Writing and PhD Life (2015) because it had recently been published when I was beginning my program and it contained some valuable advice concerning what to expect and when. I suggest browsing what’s available online in the first instance to see what seems most relevant to you.

  • Learn from others, seek advice, and ask anyone further along in the process than you.

I was lucky enough that two of my close friends had completed their doctorates before me, so they could provide useful insights drawing on what they had learned. They also offered guidance when things went wrong (yes, sh*t happens).

Even if you have a good support network at home, they won’t understand the nuances of your PhD program. Therefore, I recommend asking for advice from students who are ahead of you in their studies, as well as your supervisor and/or any faculty members who are approachable.

  • Decide what YOU want your PhD to look like.

Pressures often arise when we think we ‘should’ be doing something, but you need to consider if this task/action/path is right for you.

Personally, I felt I was failing because I didn’t present at loads of conferences, get teaching experience early on, or publish numerous papers. This feeling is often exacerbated if you have a supervisor who continually hammers the point.

However, don’t lose sight of the fact this is your PhD. That’s why you should only present at conferences you are genuinely interested in and publish your work where (and when) feels comfortable for you.

The teaching aspect might be trickier because some universities make it a requirement. Yet don’t be tempted to pick up extra tasks, such as marking or mentoring, because you think you ‘should’, as this eats into valuable time and could cause burnout (see point 5).

3. Don’t “save up” all that sexy writing, formatting, and referencing for the final few months.

Ahhh the bliss of performing research you’ve only ever dreamt about, before the inevitable…

“Damn, I’ve actually got to write this thing now!”

The shortest successful thesis to ever exist was seven pages long (I discovered this when trying to determine the lowest word count I could get away with) but this is rare. Therefore, be prepared to get typing.

While it’s true you’ll need to complete all that amazing research before performing the ‘big write-up’, there are still things you can be doing early on to make the final sprint less painful.

  • Write up proper notes as you progress.

I don’t mean some random Post-it notes that get stuck to the bottom of your coffee mug. I mean organized notes — such as in a dedicated notebook (digital or physical is fine, it depends on how you like to work) — that you’ll still be able to read and understand in two years’ time.

Writing as you go will mean it doesn’t feel like you’re starting from scratch AND you’ll have access to earlier insights or research decisions you may have forgotten about.

  • Format consistently from the start.

We’re lucky to be living in a world where software can take the guesswork and stress out of organizing and formatting your thesis, so use this to your advantage.

The first step is to check what the thesis requirements are for your department and implement them early on, even if it’s only a draft. This means you’ll get into good habits from the start and won’t be hit with any unexpected issues at a time when your patience will already be at its peak tolerance level.

For example:

“All paragraphs should be indented, with the exception of any that appeared prior to an indented quotation.”

This was my personal realization a few days prior to submission, which meant I had to go through the entire document to check the correct sections had been adjusted (or rather, my husband did this for me because I wanted to throw my laptop out of the window at this point).

Don’t be like me, do it from the beginning.

  • Compile your bibliography, appendices, footnotes/endnotes, and citations as you go.

Similar to the previous bullet point, there will be rules surrounding what referencing system you have to use and how citations should be presented. It might be useful to download or print a copy of the style guide for the system you need to use, alongside software that will create and organize your references.

Bear in mind that such software isn’t always 100% accurate, which is why I recommend the official style guide so you can cross-reference.

Also, compile your bibliography and appendices as you go. If you don’t, the best-case scenario might be you trying to locate a source for some vital information in the minefield of your notes or internet tabs. Yet the worst case scenario could be you inadvertently plagiarising someone else’s work.

Both of these scenarios are avoidable with a little foresight.

4. “You are on the bottom rung of the early career researcher ladder, NOT at the top of the education pyramid.” — But that can be a good thing!

Photo Credit: @hudsoncrafted

I’m sorry to break it to you, but this was one of the first things the new PhDs were told when we enthusiastically rocked up to our department induction. It stings for a little while, but then you begin to see the advantages of being a ‘newbie’:

  • You will be expected to make mistakes.

When you’re new to the field you won’t be expected to know everything, giving you time to develop as an academic without (hopefully) too many pressures. Plus, mistakes can be valuable to your thesis because they can shift your line of inquiry in positive and unexpected ways.

Making mistakes early in your PhD journey is common, it’s how you react to and learn from them that counts.

  • Bringing fresh ideas to the table can enrich your department.

Instead of thinking about all the things you don’t know, consider what experience you do have that you can bring to the table from the get-go. You’ll have a range of skills that are unique to you, meaning you’re probably bringing some much-needed diversity and enthusiasm with you.

I had a background in retail, customer service, and primary school teaching prior to beginning my PhD, which meant I already had strengths in communicating ideas clearly and creating visually appealing material for presentations.

  • More experienced academics will want to take you under their wing.

Although this isn’t a given, many senior researchers will enjoy discussing ideas with you and will appreciate you taking an interest in their work. In the first instance, your supervisor should be the mentor who helps you navigate through the process. Yet other academics working in your field may also want to encourage you and offer advice if you contact them.

I discovered that if I wanted help with something like locating a certain edition of a book, simply emailing more senior researchers proved to be fruitful. They also often enjoyed hearing about how my work was going.

It never hurts to ask.

On the Road to Doctorate

5. The PhD process can be a solitary path, but it needn’t be.

The image of a stressed-out academic curled up under a lab desk or at a library table can seem like a haunting reality. Yes, you are likely completing an individual thesis of your own making, yet there are ways to stop the struggle from seeming like a lonely one.

  • Collaborate with others.

Some disciplines warrant collaboration, particularly within the sciences, but many PhD candidates are working alone and for a long time. For this reason, I recommend seeking opportunities to work with others. This could be in the form of writing a paper with someone in your department or organizing/helping out at a conference.

You might also seek voluntary (but ideally paid!) opportunities, such as becoming a research assistant or student mentor. Some universities encourage interdisciplinary projects or need help with educational outreach, which can be rewarding (although, please ensure you aren’t taking on too many responsibilities).

  • Be part of the social network.

Internal university mailing lists will keep you in the loop about what’s happening on campus, including talks, conferences, shows, social groups, exhibitions, and much more. Such opportunities will not only help you to connect with like-minded individuals; they’ll also give you some light relief from your immediate project or inspire you if you’re feeling demotivated (see point 8).

You could also look out for department social and/or study events that encourage interaction and the sharing of ideas. These events are an opportunity to get a second opinion on your work, as well as to hear what others are working on.

6. “Pain is temporary, but a doctorate degree is forever,” — The type of bullsh*t people will tell you to cover up the mental health epidemic within academia.

Photo Credit: @freestocks

To be clear, I’m not taking issue with the positive affirmations that people put out there to encourage others. These can be beneficial if you just need someone to tell you “You’ve got this!” or “I believe in you!” when you’re having an off day or something didn’t go as planned. But what if your emotional state runs much deeper than this?

I’ve published a dedicated article discussing this exact topic,

But for now here are some strategies that may help you if you’re struggling with your mental health:

  • The PhD might be temporary, but our lives, minds, and bodies aren’t.

Don’t ‘put off’ your happiness.

We need to be able to live with ourselves today, not ‘one day’ when the PhD is over and we can finally relax. Yes, your thesis will one day be complete and successfully defended, but any negative effects on your mental and physical health will continue beyond this.

In hindsight, I should have given myself permission to perform activities aside from my thesis on days when I wasn’t feeling productive. Instead, I would torture myself with thoughts of how I should be working harder, which meant I missed the opportunity to give my mind a break.

Of course, sometimes you have to push through the procrastination and it’s hard. Yet on days when you’re not in the right headspace, do something else and most likely you’ll feel more productive the following day.

  • Speak out, get help.

Within some cultures or environments, there may be a stigma around mental health issues but it’s important not to suffer in silence. Honesty is usually the best policy and asking for help or understanding is NOT a sign of weakness. I was genuinely told by someone,

“Don’t tell anyone you’ve got depression and anxiety, it’ll be the end of your career.”

Fortunately, I ignored their outdated advice and told my supervisor about my diagnosis and personal struggles. I was pointed in the direction of university counseling and any problems I had with certain deadlines or commitments were treated sympathetically.

If you do receive any negative reactions to being open about how you’re feeling, remember: it’s not you, it’s them. Educational institutions and places of employment have a duty of care to you, meaning they must take your well-being seriously.

I discovered the more open I was about my mental health with my peers, the more I realized they were having problems too. It’s not right and the issue needs to be addressed properly, but you’re definitely not alone.

  • Give me a break!

Following the breakdown I mentioned earlier, I took 6 months leave from my PhD. It was absolutely the right thing to do and gave me time to work on my mental health. During that time I had the space to view my project more objectively and I even managed to write up some of my notes without feeling the pressure of ‘needing’ to write.

I understand that taking formal time out from study may be difficult for anyone under strict time constraints, such as if you are being sponsored to complete your PhD. However, I encourage you to seek advice if your study is becoming unsustainable and your mental health is suffering.

Even allowing yourself a couple of weeks ‘holiday’ from your thesis could have massive benefits. Sometimes giving ourselves permission to take time away from study is enough.

7. You are not your PhD: You existed before, you will exist after

This is a slight continuation from point 5 in the sense that professional knocks can seem like personal ones, which can have a negative impact on your self-esteem. For this reason, it’s important to remain mindful of who you are beyond your thesis.

  • Don’t let your work define who you are.

It’s so simple to say, “I am not my work.” What is much more difficult is to practice what you preach. I lost count of the number of times I received negative or harsh feedback on some of my work and curled up into a ball for a couple of days afterward, or cried about how everything was too hard.

This was until I learned to separate my work from who I am as a person. Once I stopped thinking,

“My writing isn’t good enough, I must be an untalented or unintelligent person,”

I could see that any criticisms were directed at a specific piece of work and not a mark of my ability (or supposed lack of it). You will always get knockbacks and things will go wrong, but you deserve to be there and you have many positive traits that you shouldn’t diminish.

This brings me to my next point…

  • Remind yourself of the person you were before your PhD.

Think about the hobbies and activities you enjoyed prior to beginning your thesis but might have let slide once things got busy. Can you make some time to pursue those again?

I started creative writing again after a long break and it was a wonderful diversion from academic work. Perhaps you enjoyed watching movies, painting, attending concerts, bird-watching, knitting, playing sports, or climbing.

It’s important to retain a sense of self so you don’t get lost in your research, which is why reminding yourself about what you enjoy doing (and making time to do it) is vital.

8. “Remind me, why am I doing this again?” — The words you will repeat to yourself daily.

Photo by NIPYATA! on Unsplash

The thought of being able to use the title ‘Dr’ on your passport will only sustain you for so long, as will the slight smugness of being able to tell friends and family,

“I’m working on my thesis.”

Even the most enthusiastic students will begin to feel their energy and commitment waning at some point (the second-year blues are NOT a myth). Therefore, consider these questions when you start to think joining the circus is a viable career alternative to completing your PhD:

  • What first inspired me about this topic?

There’s a reason you wanted to complete this PhD in the first place and it must have been something that genuinely sparked your interest. During periods when I felt unmotivated, I would visit my university library Special Collections to access some manuscript material.

Handling these vintage relics would reignite my passion for the project and remind me why I loved the subject. Consider what originally drew you to your PhD and see if you can recapture the magic.

  • Why is it important I complete this research and what impact could my work have?

By nature, PhD research is a unique contribution to knowledge because nobody else has said exactly what you are proposing. Therefore, your findings are significant and need to be heard.

At times when you feel defeated or reluctant to work, remember that future readers will find your research interesting, useful, and (in some cases) life-changing.

  • How will I feel when my thesis is finally complete?

Finally, imagine a future where you can legitimately call yourself a ‘doctor’ and the mammoth of a thesis you’ve been carrying for so long is now off your shoulders and out in the world for all to see. This might seem like a lifetime away depending on what stage you’re at, but if you take it one step at a time you will reach your goal.

One motivation technique is to have something fun planned for after you complete your PhD. This could be a trip you’ve been putting off, a party including your close friends and family, or a new hobby you want to begin. Whatever your plans, having a genuine goal beyond your thesis will help you put your study into perspective AND give you something to look forward to when the hard work is complete.

Final Thoughts

There you have it, 8 things I wish I’d known during my PhD. I hope learning from my mistakes and mishaps will help you to succeed in your own project. Remember, it needn’t feel like,

“I’m here for a long time, not for a good time.”

What would you add to this list? How did/does your own experience differ from mine? What should my next ‘Spilling the Ph-Tea’ article be about?

I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments.

This is part of the wider ‘Spilling the Ph-Tea’ series. If you wish to hear about future articles, please follow me and/or subscribe.

Thank you for reading!

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/rlmace1986

Rachel Palmąka Mace is a literary fiction and creative non-fiction writer, singer, artist, spoken word performer, lapsed academic, and feminist. She is the editor of the feminist-led magazine Subtle Sledgehammer and her new project ‘Around the World with 80 Women’ (AW80W) — which shares the narratives of women from Somalia to Scotland — will be published in the autumn of 2023.

--

--

Rachel Palmąka Mace

Fiction and creative non-fiction writer, artist, lapsed academic, feminist, and occasional host to the ginger cat next door. www.aw80w.com