How I used Chat GPT to build a twitter bot without knowing any programming language

Rakshit Lodha
3 min readDec 5, 2022

--

Okay, so I’ll be honest, I’m not good at programming. I try, encounter an unsolvable bug, give up, and the cycle continues. Even though I’ve made simple projects, like a personal blog and simple translator apps, nothing too extraordinary to share with the public.

That’s until I first read about Chat GPT. For those of you who don’t know, Chat GPT is a natural language processing (NLP) tool that uses a powerful machine learning model to generate human-like responses to input text (and yes, I got this definition from Chat GPT itself).

I started using it instead of Google for a lot of research. Why? Simple, because it just gave me an answer instantly. Slowly but surely, I was hooked on it. And I started thinking of how I could use it to build something cool that I could later share. That’s when I decided to build a Twitter bot. Why a Twitter bot, though? I don’t know, it sounded cool.

Without knowing anything, I started by simply searching.

Post that, I got a Twitter developer account, got all the APIs that I needed, and there seemed to be no stopping me. Except for one thing, I don’t know Python. So, once again, I went to Chat GPT, asked it to write the code for a Twitter bot that retweets information related to stocks. And it did not disappoint.

I then put it all on Replit and started testing. It wasn’t that I got it right the first time; I was wrong a bunch of times. But, ultimately, using Stack Overflow and Twitter developer forums, I was able to crack it all in less than a day.

Final thoughts:

I think Chat GPT is great. It can empower people like me to create stuff without the technical know-how. And I’ll be using this more and more for everything. Great job by Open AI and Replit’s team for building simple and powerful products that can empower billions of people!

Do check out the bot at: https://twitter.com/searchmynews

--

--