Jack Kirby 100th Celebration Collection- Comic Review

Rohith C
8 min readJun 11, 2023

If you know a lot about comics, you know who Jack Kirby is. If you know a little bit about comics, you probably know who Jack Kirby is. If you like Marvel movies, you might know who Jack Kirby is.

Regardless, because of his towering influence on the comics medium, superheroes, and American culture in general, I won’t go over the details of his life or work (check out this article for more info on him), but I will give the very essential bit of information that he was born on August 28th, 1917.

Essential for this article, anyway, because 100 years after that date, DC Comics (where Kirby had worked in the early 1940’s before he was drafted to fight in World War II, and later the early 1970’s, following his departure from Marvel) decided to honor the King by having a series of one shots dedicated towards the various characters he created for the publisher, including Manhunter, Sandman, OMAC, and most importantly, the New Gods.

And I enjoyed these one shots enough, and wanted to get back into some comics writing, that I’ve decided to review them. Or at least the collection they’re all under.

I’m going to avoid the whole “recount the plot, give thoughts” model, since that caused some stress with the 1963 reviews that kept me from finishing them. (I will try to get back to that…

--

--