Poetry

Jacked In

A short poem.

RN Manchester
Jun 9, 2022

--

A dragonfly in flight.
Photo by Bob Brewer on Unsplash

Sky deep as oceans, clouds float like islands,
Warm sun on my body, green trees filled with life.
My skin cool breeze tingles, birds chirping and singing,
Red roses on fire, rain falling like tears from the sky.
Moon casting shadows like neon girls dancing,
Dragonflies zipping and zinging like insectoid dogfights.
Stars twinkling above me, meteors streaking,
Jupiter, Saturn, milky way across the night sky.

Yet, I stand on the surface of this lonely planet,
Locked down by her gravity, unable to fly.
I feel hate all around me; people are dying,
Wars are raging; I don’t understand why.
I’m jacked into the hive mind of all living creatures,
But I scream in agony at the sadness of life.

Copyright © 2022 by RN Manchester. All Rights Reserved.

--

--

RN Manchester

I write mostly short stories. Pretty much any genre, though I lean toward science fiction, fantasy and horror.