Bobby Moore, a tribute.

Robert Bush
4 min readOct 19, 2018
Bobby Moore and Pele, 1970 World Cup

West Ham United is an English Premier League football team based in East London. It is a family club attracting 57,000 people on matchdays, but having many more fans across the world. There are 700,000 fans on the club’s database and over 2,300,000 likes on Facebook.

I am a lifelong fan. I have a season ticket and go to all home games and most aways. West Ham have won nothing since 1980, but that’s really not the point.

In July 1966 England won the World Cup by beating West Germany at Wembley by 4 goals to 2. That was a great day for England but also it was a superb day for West Ham United because the England Captain that day was Bobby Moore, the masterful Captain of West Ham, and the 4 goals in the final were scored by players who also played for West Ham; Martin Peters scoring one and Geoff Hurst scoring a hat-trick leading to a boast ever since by West Ham fans that West Ham won the 1966 World Cup.

In the late 60’s I played squash at a local club and one day I was in the changing room getting dressed after a game, and a bloke next to me began a conversation with me about the difficulty of cocking the wrist in the backhand. I turned to talk to this bloke to discover it was Bobby Moore.

Bobby Moore was my ultimate hero, and I don’t say that lightly, I never had a hero…

--

--

Robert Bush

Want to read about slippers and baths, farting in a spaceship and ageing ungracefully? Read on, you've come to the right place. 4 x top writer, 10 x boosted.