mother may I (this is where the children die)

Rob Bowen
1 min readMar 12, 2024

--

image from a short film I made called The Wastelander

mother may I please know peace
will this torment never end
will days uncolored by grief
ever pass this way again

prayers whispered by a child
cast against the crimson skies
banished to the bracing wilds
this is where innocence dies

mother may I breathe again
passed these days of stolen air
did you note my breathing end
did you even find you cared

prayers whispered by a child
shed like many of their tears
here they’re cataloged and filed
phantoms of forgotten years

mother may I know the way
to carry what I can’t lift
what’s the trick to see this weight
as if it’s some sort of gift

prayers whispered by a child
cast against the crimson skies
banished to the bracing wilds
this is where the children die

mother may I please know peace
will this torment never end
will days uncolored by grief
ever pass this way again

--

--

Rob Bowen

Indie filmmaker and writer/poet. Really just a guy named Rob.