I’m Going to Try and Break a World Record

Rob Hallifax
6 min readJan 14, 2024

--

I don’t really do New Year’s resolutions, but this year I’ve challenged myself to break a Guinness World Record.

To be honest, I’m not at all sure if it’ll be possible, but I’m going to give it a good go.

My criteria for the record were very open. It simply has to be a record recognised in the fabled Book. Then I have to break it. And it has to be fun.

What I’ve already found really interesting is that it’s got me thinking hard about what I’m good at. It’s the kind of introspection you might apply when choosing a job or deciding what to do when you grow up. But in this case it’s super focussed and has a very tangible goal.

What record?

Physically I’m pretty average so I’m not going to break the hundred metres record here. Maybe I could grow the longest ever fingernails, but that would take decades and wouldn’t be fun.

I’m clearly not going to master sword-swallowing, or build the world’s tallest skyscraper, so it needs to be a relatively modest record. Frankly it’s likely to be a bit silly and pointless.

Whatever I try needs to be achievable in a matter of weeks or months, not years, and needs to be done mostly as a solo project.

What am I good at?

I’ll need to find something that plays to my strengths.

What am I good at?

The first thing that came mind is that I’m good at making things. Some specific things that might be relevant:

  • I’ve designed and made plenty of physical and digital products — most recently playing cards
  • I can draw
  • I’ve made art out of maps and stamps
  • I’m well-travelled and have good world geography knowledge
  • I love an excuse to play with LEGO

Another consideration is that I don’t have much space so I’d struggle with anything ‘biggest’. And big things are likely to be more expensive to execute.

Smallest could be more doable. Although a search for “world’s smallest map” made me think I may have underestimated this challenge.

In 2012, IBM scientists created a complete 3D map of the world, measuring only 22 by 11 micrometers. (A micrometer — µm — is a millionth of a meter.) The map was “written” on a polymer by manipulating the sophisticated silicon tip of a powerful microscope.

I didn’t let that deter me.

Shortlisting some ideas

You can create an account on the Guinness World Records website and get access to their database to see all the existing records.

So that’s what I did.

Guinness World Records — record application search
Searching the database

I tried some key words in the areas of making things, stamps, LEGO, maps and playing cards.

Here are some that initially seemed promising:

  • Largest-hand-drawn-maze (104.64 m², Michelle Boggess-Nunley, 2020)
  • Fastest time to build the LEGO world map (7:09:41, Clarry Farkash, 2023)
  • Farthest playing card blow (3.79 m, Darcy Bennett, 2022)
  • Most playing cards held in a fan (326, Ralf Laue, 1994)
  • Fastest time to arrange a deck of playing cards (34.03, Arick Zachman, 2023)
  • Longest line of stamps (no current record)
  • Largest duct tape artwork (no current record)

Some are self-explanatory but for others there’s not much information provided about the specific criteria for the record. For example with the card blowing one, I have to assume it’s referring to blowing with one breath, otherwise that sounds too easy to beat.

Based on absolutely nothing, I’d back myself to build the LEGO world map in under seven hours, but then it might depend on the rules around preparation and starting position.

Maybe I’ve broken two records already?

I was surprised to see that some records were defined and listed, but had no current record holder.

A record waiting to be set

Maybe that’s exactly the low hanging fruit I was searching for.

Again, since there’s not much detail on the website about the records, my assumption for the ‘unclaimed’ records is that there would be some threshold which would make an attempt worthy for the opening claim.

But if not, here’s two records I’ve set already!

  • Longest line of stamps (37 cm, Rob Hallifax, 2024)
Record-breaking?

And here’s one I made earlier.

  • Largest duct tape artwork (2000 cm², Rob Hallifax, 2020)
Record-breaking?

Smallest pack of playing cards

Other than those two, which maybe one day I’ll try for real, I decided that playing cards would be a good area to focus on. Not least because it would be good publicity for my playing card company, Cartesian Cards!

This one got my attention.

I certainly have above-average experience when it comes to making playing cards, and it meets my other criteria around size and complexity of scope.

In terms of execution, my first thoughts were around graphic design, card stock, printing resolution and how I’d cut the cards.

Some quick experiments convinced my that those were all surmountable challenges.

Next steps

So I’m going to attempt to beat the world record for the smallest pack of playing cards.

I’m not exactly sure yet about what size cards I’ll produce. I don’t think there’s any point doing it if I’m only going to break the record by a few percent, so I will aim for a significantly smaller size.

In order to get an officially certified Guinness World Record you have to make an application detailing your intentions. I’ve done that and am awaiting a response.

In the meantime I’ve already made some low-res prototypes and have just sent off design files to a printer for some high-res prototypes.

Cutting could still be a challenge. The simplest option might end up being by hand with a scalpel, but I’m also investigating a laser or CNC cutting with a rotating blade.

Kickstarter

When I have ideas like this, I often get into Kickstarter mode to frame my project planning. In this case the timing could work well because if I can launch a Kickstarter project by the end of this month it can be part of their Make 100 initiative. That’s where you offer a limited edition of only 100 rewards. These cards are going to be tricky to make so constraining my batch to 100 seems like a sensible idea.

In the next week or so I should see my first properly-printed prototypes and hopefully I’ll have heard back from Guinness World Records.

Follow along for more progress updates and let’s see if this Non-New Year’s Resolution can become a real thing.

UPDATE: 16 Jan 2024 — I’ve heard back from GWR and my application has been accepted. They are now awaiting my evidence!

--

--

Rob Hallifax

Product manager, designer and Kickstarter expert based in London.