Why I go to the gym at 6am and why you should too!

Rob Burley
Fitness, nutrition & happiness
4 min readDec 19, 2021

Do you want to always feel good about yourself and get in the best shape of your life!? This is certainly possible, you just need to understand the art of self-care and consistency.

We all know life can get you down from time to time, especially if you have a 9–5 job you must go to at least 5 times week, I know there is a whole bunch of other things we’d rather be doing with our time!

Instead of lying in bed until your alarm goes off, getting up and going straight to work 5 days a week (which quite frankly is depressing), try setting your alarm for 6am (or earlier) and do any form of exercise before you start your day (trust me it will change your life). This can even include a 20 minute HIIT session, which takes no time at all! HIIT stands for high intensity interval training. This is a great way to burn a lot of calories in a short amount of time. This is just one of many examples! You can find many HIIT sessions on YouTube. There are many other examples, I will go through these on different blogs so stay tuned!

Let’s get scientific and talk about why exercise is so good for the mind and body. It has been scientifically proven that exercise has direct stress-busting benefits, it pumps up your endorphins! What are endorphins I hear you ask? Endorphins are the body’s nature painkillers, sounds cool right? This hormone both relives pain and creates a general feeling of wellbeing, in other words it makes you feel good and decreases stress! I mean, who doesn’t want to feel good?! For me, the natural high of feeling good after finishing a workout beats any other natural/unnatural high — because of this I crave exercise much more than any other high, I barely drink alcohol as a direct result! The even greater aspect of all this is you’re getting in shape whilst doing it! It’s literally a win win!

I get up at 6am 5 times a week in order to go to the gym before work. Why do I do this? To be honest, I’m addicted! I can’t picture my life without going to the gym at least 5 times a week MINIMUM, I absolutely love it! I get to the gym for 6.15am and leave between 7.30am-7.45am, meaning I spend at least 1 hour 15 minutes in the gym every morning before getting ready for work and starting my day. I’m passionate about building muscle, I find it fascinating; I mean if you continually lift heavier weights over time, along with eating slightly more food and getting the right amount protein in… your body will adapt and grow your muscles back bigger to cope, amazing! Witnessing first hand your body get into the shape you picture in your head is by far the most rewarding feeling and should motivate you to take it to the next step, honestly, it’s addictive! The other massive benefit is the feel-good factor after a session, its 7.30am and I’ve already pushed myself to the limit mentally and physically, nothing can stop me now! Any issues I deal with during the day will be seen as easy compared to my gym session. It sets me up for the day, I feel good/confident and have bundles of energy. The feel-good factor is so good you will want to do it again, tomorrow… and the next day and so on.

This bit is important… You need to have a routine, a goal in mind, what do YOU want to achieve from this? It may be to lose weight (body fat), it might be to gain muscle, it might be just to stay healthy. Whatever it is, have that figured out first and have a goal in mind that YOU want to achieve. Work out how many times a week you plan to go and on what days, work out your rest days (which are very important). Most importantly, stay consistent! Consistency is what 99% of the world lack, consistency will get you results. Remember why you started and always think back to the feeling after a session, it will motivate you to go, even when you don’t want to. Think about the bigger picture, long term happiness is key. Too many people live for short term happiness… do you really need that glass of wine? Box of chocolates? Try and think ahead, how will it make you feel once it’s in your stomach? Long term happiness is key! Always remember that.

I will be talking a lot more about health and fitness in future blogs. This includes what gym workouts to do, what foods are best to eat, how much food you should consume each day to lose/gain weight and much more, so follow!

If you enjoyed this blog be sure to check out my other blog below to learn all about the art of eating in the fitness world; truly understand what a calorie deficit is!

--

--

Rob Burley
Fitness, nutrition & happiness

I will be posting articles frequently all to do with health, fitness & nutrition, to keep in the loop give me a follow and subscribe!